We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although this hotel was pleasant and we were upgraded because we stayed 7 days, we booked it because it was described as having a kitchenette. This was extremely minimal with only a microwave and a few plates. No hot plate or cooking dishes for the microwave. As we were in Ottawa for a sporting event we did not want to be constantly eating out. Breakfast was complimentary, and while the staff tried hard to keep up, there were often long queues and the food was very mass produced. There was a coin operated laundry for guests. The location was rather isolated but there was a bus route to the Rideau Centre and Rideau market (beautiful fresh fruit and vegetables). It was about a 10min walk to a good selection of bars and restaurants. The Museum of Nature is across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear KiwiTwo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and allows us the opportunity to continuously refine our service delivery.
I'm sorry to hear that our kitchenette facilities were not what you were expecting. Hopefully you were able to make the best use of the facilites none-the-less. I would be curious to know which channel you booked your room through so that I would be able to verify it to ensure accuracy. It sounds like you were able to visit the Market area and were able to enjoy some local produce. That is great to hear.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience by email andrew@victoriapark.com or by phone directly at 613.288.0986.
I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    584
    112
    14
    10
See reviews for
490
428
69
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was here last weekend for a wedding and we all found it to be very nice. For the price the rooms were nice and the breakfast was very good and added value to our stay. I would reccommend this hotel, though beware that there is a WiFi charge and that parking is pretty pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beajolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear beajolley,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hotel and I hope that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended.

With regards to your comment on the WiFi access; our hotel actually offers this as a complimentary service along with local telephone calls and breakfast each morning.

I hope that when you travels bring you back to our Nation's Capital, we will be your accommodation of choice once again.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel it was clean, new and modern looking. Everything in the room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint would be the underground parking charge it was a bit excessive, I would rather they just incorporate it into the room cost. I was not informed of the cheaper parking option either. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parsons76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Parsons76,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it. I was happy to hear that your room was comfortable and quiet however I'm sorry that you were not informed fully of the alternate parking options. With regards to the parking, by not including it in our daily rates we are able to keep the cost lower. The majority of our guests arrive via plane or train thus not requiring the use of a parking space. However please rest assured the the rates that we offer for our parking facility are inline with similar hotels in the downtown core.
I hope that on your next visit to Ottawa you will stay with us again. We would would be thriled to have you as our guest.

Yours in hospitality,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here last year, and we had a wonderful time. On our return visit, I checked out a number of other downtown hotels that offered similar services (microwave, fridge, continental breakfast, coin laundry, parking). I only found a handful, and none of them could match the price or the value of the Best Western Victoria Park Suites. The breakfast is superb! They have a small army of servers bringing out hot, freshly prepared eggs, sausages, bacon and French toast. They have real plates and metal utensils! A good supply of them are also in every room. If there's any problem or concern you might have, their staff will drop everything an address the situation immediately ( a special heads up to Gitano at the front desk, who was most helpful). As a bonus, we had a room on the seventh floor, which offered us a great view of the Museum of Nature. They offer underground parking, but they also have outdoor parking a few blocks away at a reduced price, which is what we took (there's no need to park indoors in Ottawa, except in the Winter). We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ottawa!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, facing the museum. It's a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Paul U,

It was wonderful to see that you returned to us! Thank you for being our guest and for your loyalty to our hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, your room and your view and that your time with us was so well enjoyed.

We will see you again on your next visit to Ottawa!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good location - about a 15 minute walk to Parliament Hill. We were staying 3 nights so we booked a suite which worked out very well. We had plenty of space with a microwave, sink and small fridge. The breakfast was good - real plates, good selection of food including fruit. We booked through Ottawa tourism and were happy with that as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totravelagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Totravelagain,

I would like to thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thougths about your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our amenities suited what you were looking for.

I hope that you will chose to stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff at this property were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included but the Elgin St. Diner is nearby if you want a greasy home-cooked breakfast.
It is within walking distance from Parliament and Byward market shops. Other restaurants, shopping and university campus are a short drive away. Beautiful city to visit and awesome transit system if you don't want to drive.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9598mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mom9598,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you very much for your kind words. Your comments and suggestions will help our future guests make an informed descision on where to stay while in Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything was superbly clean and comfortable; and the free continental breakfast was better than the norm offered in most hotels. The location of the hotel was also sufficiently central to be able to walk to all centrally located attractions. As a 'staycation' for us, it all worked very well. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank fredandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear fredandsally,

Thank you very much for chosing to have your 'staycation' with us! I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, enjoyed our breakfast and that you will be back.

Your loyalty is very much appreciated.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing