We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My Husband and I, My Mother, Brother and Sister-In Law were in Ottawa for a family event. I booked 2 queen rooms and one queen suite all on the second floor. Rooms were quite clean and adequate all with flat screen TV's.
We had the suite and it was most spacious and comfortable. Larger bathroom, panty with sink and fridge, separate living area with desk. Very clean.
Continental breakfast great. Eggs, sausages, cereal, bagels, toast, juice, coffee etc...
Check in was quick. However, I was surprised with the $18.95 per night charge for the underground parking. Not happy about that!
The amenities are few. Only an exercise room. No pool. It was however close to the highway and our relative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParidiseSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear ParidiseSeeker,

Your recent review of your stay is very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that you found our suites to be spacious and comfortable. Your review will help other guests make the best decision on where to stay while in Ottawa.
I was sorry to hear that you were not happy with your parking charge. Please rest assured that our parking fee is very much inline with hotels of similar size in the downtown area. More often than not our parking fee is slightly lower.
You will be pleased to know that we have just added a brand new treadmill, cable weight system and free weights to our fitness centre as well as a new 37" flat panel television.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    560
    107
    14
    10
See reviews for
473
409
68
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently we were awarded a stay at the Best Western Victoria Suites in Ottawa. This hotel had donated the stay to a local Austism Respite program. This was our first visit to this hotel and my husband and I were treated like royalty! The front desk staff were extremely professional and pleasant. Our room was quiet and had a well equiped mini kitchen. The bed was very comfortable. Parking was easy in their own underground lot. Breakfast was a tasty surprise complete with 6 kinds of coffee, a good variety of hot and cold breakfast items, fresh fruit salad, and an outdoor terrace to enjoy it on. They also had an interactive 6 ft tall "iphone" in the lobby to help guests view maps and gather information on events in the area. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear N S,

I would like to thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you were able to use your Gift Certificate and are so happy to hear that you felt like you were "treated like royalty" by our staff. What a compliment!!
Your review will be very beneficial to other travellers that are looking to make an informed decision on where to stay in Ottawa.
Our intereactive board in the lobby is a wonderful new addition and it's funny that you mentioned it looks like a giant "iPhone" as everyone has the same comments! These boards are actually available in select hotels around the city in order to guide guests around the Nation's Capital.

We appreciate your recomendations to others about our hotel and look forward to inviting you back on your next visit to the nation's capital!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Mananger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Located in a fun and convenient area where cafes, restaurants, drugstores, convenience stores, museums are.
Staff members at the check- in were always very kind, helpful and warm.
They provided any type of orientation and support
Free breakfast that is a buffet with a variety of meals.
This is one of the few hotels where I found soy milk

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Luis S,

Thank you very much for your review of your experience while staying at our hotel. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are happy that you found our location to be convenient as we are only a short 15-20 minute walk from major attractions.
We always like to help make our guests stays more enjoyable and if Soy Milk contributes to that we are more than happy offer it. Items such as this are available, one simply has to ask a member of our team as they are not always out on display.

We hope that you will join us again soon on your next visit to Ottawa!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a decent and very good place to stay. Although a bit far away from the Parliament and the heart of Ottawa, it's always good to have a nice walk. I find the rooms to be quiet and with a Best Western "plus" status, I find this to be very good. The breakfast is great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comp-aliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear comp-aliance,

Thank you very much for your comments from your recent stay with us! They are very much appreciated!

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back!

Regards,

Andrew Busng
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for three days recently on our anniversary trip to Ottawa. It was not in the area we originally planned to book (closer to Parliament Hill), but we were very happy in the end. We loved The Glebe district and Elgin Street, both of which were very close. And it's only about a 20 minute walk or so to the Parliament Hill/Byward Market area so not too far at all. We were very interested in restaurants and nightlife, so this ended up being a very good choice for us.

The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. We loved having a kitchenette in our room and the breakfast offered was quite good. We found the beds comfy and slept really well - our room wasn't noisy at all despite it being a busy weekend at the hotel.

There is a great museum just next door too, which I think would really appeal to families with children. The hop-on hop-off bus stops at the museum, which was also convenient when we wanted to come back from Byward Market with all our purchases. We have taken this bus tour on both our trips to Ottawa and recommend it for seeing the sights and getting from one attraction to another.

Great hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear kdlToronto,

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us and celebrate your anniversary at our hotel. Congratulations from all of us at the Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites!!
I was thrilled to read that you found our in room amenities and breastfast to be enjoyable. Your suggestion to other TripAdvisor reviewers about the Canadian Museum of Nature next to the hotel is very much appreciated. Our guests always looking for unique attractions to visit that are within walking distance and this is one for sure.

We look forward to having you as our guest on your next stay in Ottawa!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed in best western from june 6th to june 10th... hotel itself was clean staff was very friendly and the food at breakfast was vey handy and good front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting where to eat and best places to see .we left the hotel and I left my battery and charger from my camera when I noticed I called the hotel and few days later I had them home ...the housekeeping staff was very kind in sending them right thank very much ..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanislaw1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Stanislaw1949,

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that our front line staff were able to provide helpful suggestions for dining and attractions. I was even more happy to read that your lost charger was able to make it home safely to you!

We hope that on your next visit to the Nation's Capital you will make us your choice of home away from home again!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel.Rooms were clean and well supplied. We were given an upgrade to an executive suite which was nice except I had difficulty sleeping in the sofa bed. Property is relatively small and a good 15-20 minute walk to downtown Ottawa attractions. I had a senior with me but with the ease of a bus stop right outside, I didn't find that location to be a problem.

Their breakfast is full and pretty good although quality fell off on Sunday (most people checking out?). Staff is very helpful and they accommodate simple requests. There is street parking right opposite the hotel and on nearby streets so it is not necessary to buy parking if you have time and patience to find a spot. All in all a good place to stay in Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_askme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Toronto_askme,

Your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites are very much appreciated. I was happy to read that you found our location to be convenient and that you were able to ride the Public Transit with ease.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip ot Ottawa!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing