We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Ottawa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good choice in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were more than happy with our choice of this Ottawa hotel for our 4 night stay. The service was friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, it included a fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery. The complimentary breakfast included a selection of cereals, breads and pastries plus a small choice of hot foods. Although the location is a slightly away from downtown we were close to the Museum of Nature and were able to walk to most other Ottawa attractions. We also found places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property and our staff. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

We hope to see you again soon in Ottawa!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    546
    107
    13
    10
See reviews for
465
403
67
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My organization held its annual conference (75 people) at the Best Western Plus Victoria Park in Ottawa, Oct 23-27, 2012. This is the first time we've met at this hotel and we were very, very pleased with the price, the location, the service, etc. The staff were exceptionally professional and accommodating to our last-minutes needs. The meeting rooms were comfortable, spacious and accessible. The food was very good - better than some high-end hotels we've used for meetings in Montreal. The guest rooms were spotless and comfortable. The location was great, too. True, it's a fairly long (25-30 min) walk to the Byward Market and the many restaurants there, but a 5 minute stroll takes you to Elgin Street where there were restaurants to appeal to every taste. And the price we paid for guest rooms was the lowest anywhere....and included breakfast! We will definitely be staying there again next time we meet in Ottawa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites during your recent visit to Ottawa.

Wow! Thank you for such an amazing review! We are truly proud of our staff and our property and it is so motivating to see when guests appreciate the work done by our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

Have the BEST day!

Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just stayed a night but everything was good. Very clean and quite well fitted out. Parking garage was was little a tricky to get into, but easy to park once you're in. Its a bit of a walk into the city centre and its not the most interesting route.
Breakfast was OK, filled a hole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southwestscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites on your recent visit to Ottawa.

We also greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Have the BEST day!

Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ottawa is a tricky city for hotels, generally expensive for what you get in terms of quality and location. We recently had a quick one night stay and were very pleased. My husband found a internet rate of $125 for a queen bed, parking included as part of CAA/AAA. Room was very clean, just spacious enough (read not huge!), and had a well stocked mini-kitchen. Breakfast was included and had good variety and better quality than your average "free" hotel breakfast. The hotel is very central and convenient. We are back and forth to Ottawa often and can't stand paying $150 plus to have a place to sleep for 8 hours. Might not be the place for a family vacation (no pool) but it is a great value considering the mini kitchen.

Room Tip: The elevators were a little loud, so try for a room away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you found great value with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Nation's Capital.

Have the BEST day!

Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Best Western Victoria Park Hotel. Although small, our room was lovely, with comfortable beds and a kitchen area with sink, mini fridge, microwave, dishes and utensils. The bathroom was nice with a good sized shower head, but the counter was a bit small. The free breakfast was great, and included hot items such as eggs, sausage patties, and french toast. The breakfast room was large--no overcrowding that can be a problem at some hotels. There is no outdoor parking, but there is an underground garage. The parking charge, with tax, is about $20 per day.

The hotel is about a kilometer from Parliament Hill, and on a good day it would be walkable. The weather was uncooperative while we were there, so we took a taxi which cost approximately $7.00 each way. There are stores and restaurants within walking distance--if you want to drive, parking on the street costs about $4.00 per hour.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites during your recent visit to Ottawa.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and tips for the city here on Trip Advisor. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with you.

Thank you againg and we look forward to your next stay!

Have the BEST day.

Amanda Craig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent Hotel

Stayed in a Suite : Husband and Wife in bedroom , son aged 26 used the living room soaf bed which he thought was fine.

Great location no need for car which stayed securely parked for all 4 days we were in Ottowa .

Good selection of bars and restaurants within 5 mins walk another reason car stayed in garage

Staff very friendly ( printing out times for the films at the cineplex )

Breakfast was ok ( buffet was ok busy in the room but i assume in better weather seating outside is used )

No swimming pool but did use the fitness room which was small but well equiped

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acornsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, thank you. I am so pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant and comfortable.

We look foward to seeing you again soon!

Have the BEST day!
Amanda Craig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is perhaps the best all-around hotel experience I have had in years of traveling. The Best Western Plus Victoria Park Suites has it all: terrific location, extremely comfortable beds, a nice, clean, quiet room with perfectly operating plumbing (great flow of water in the shower), good breakfast, an excellent price for what you get, and, best of all, the friendliest and most helpful front desk staff and management I have ever encountered. I made reservations by phone and was very pleased with the management's ability to respond quickly, with helpful advice and suggestions. Thank you, Amanda and Rachel! The hotel offers a two-level parking garage which is well worth the extra $17.95 per night it cost, and of which we were well informed in advance. Street parking (free on weekends) is available too. The breakfast is "continental plus", the same every day, with a good selection of breads and pastries, eggs cooked in circles to match the sausage you can put on an English muffin to make a sandwich, yogurt, tropical fruit salad, French toast, and the usual coffee, tea, and juice. The orange juice concentrate did run low a couple of hours into the breakfast period (6:30-9:30 weekdays, later on Sunday.) The dining area seems small, but we never had trouble finding an available table, even after a sold-out night.
There was no need to go to a restaurant for dinner, as the suite includes a kitchen area (microwave, fridge, small sink, coffee maker, and cabinets supplied with basic dishes and utensils.) You can buy just about anything food-related at excellent grocery store, Boushey's Fruit Market, within an easy 4-block walk on Elgin Street. Access to the main tourist spots is easy: the Canadian Nature Museum is just around the corner, Parliament Hill is a 15-20 minute walk, and road access (if you wish to drive to the parking garages at museums or Rideau Center) is simple. The front desk staff is very patient and helpful giving directions to these various places, using preprinted maps or printing out directions from the computer. My only complaint, which I registered on the post-visit survey, was difficulty getting Internet access on my iPad using the hotel's free wifi network. But after a couple of times I managed it, and manager Rachel, responding to the survey, emailed my quickly about their efforts to resolve this problem. All in all, I will be back next year, and would rate this hotel 6 stars out of 5 if I could.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow, I am blown away by the kind words you posted here on Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff read this site often and will be so happy to see your review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

All the BEST,
Amanda Craig
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing