We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When something went wrong, they dealt with it, fast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When something went wrong, they dealt with it, fast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Four of us stayed here and also used a conference room. We had a few problems with plumbing -- no hot water, too much hot water -- and lights -- one didn't work. BUT the point is that while problems like this can always happen, the way the staff respond is significant. At this hotel, the staff responded to any problem we had quickly, efficiently and graciously. This is a perfectly acceptable, standard, centrally located mid-range hotel -- but what makes it very good is the management and staff, who are superb. Next time I am in Ottawa I will stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    560
    107
    14
    10
See reviews for
473
409
68
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemmingford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the very comfortable stay at your hotel over the weekend of Jan 27-Jan 29, 2012. The room, staff, breakfast and overall comfort was amazing. Will definately return in the future

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms next to the elevators. My only "complaint"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnalmunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hotel was a pleasant surprise. Very clean, modern, comfortable, and the price was unbeatable. The accomodation for our request for an upgrade was beyond our expectations. Although it's a bit too far to walk to the core area of the city in the winter, a cab ride is only <$10. Continental breakfast area was one of the better ones we've ever seen. Definitely a great bargain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We switched to this hotel after staying elsewhere and being disappointed. The room was clean and large with a king size Bed (YAY!) the couch in the living room is the same brand as the one we have at home so that was wonderful.

Exercise room has an amazing view!

So many things are within walking distance not so much for clothes shopping but tons of restaurants, a yarn store, book stores and places to get massages!

Staff was very great! underground garage parking that is nice and clean. Even though we parked our car and never used it again because everything we needed was just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: we had a king suit. it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcculldl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Trust me, that's saying a LOT - And we've stayed in "nicer" hotels - some with truly superior service. But Victoria Suites is THE place we stay when in Ottawa for business or sightseeing. Unless it's booked solid, booking here is the first thing we do when my wife and I know we're going to Ottawa. The rooms are clean, we-maintained, spacious, and shockingly luxurious for the price Best Western charges (at least as of our last stay.) Staff are helpful when you need them and invisible when you don't. The free breakfast is decent (and you can take it back to your room if you don't want to be stuffed in the continental breakie room with everyone else) and the across-from-the-Museum-of-Nature location gives you space to take a breather from downtown, which is about a 3 minute drive up the street. The bathroom was so nice, we took photos and based our 2nd story ensuite remodel around it.

Room Tip: This isn't an amazing view unless you get really high up on the museum side. Don't worry abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intro2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for a night before going to the airport. It is 10 minutes from the airport with no traffic. The staff was great. The floor we were put on had a glass door separating the rooms from the elevator which was a nice feature. The rooms were spacious and clean. Would stay here again. We missed the continental breakfast as it started at 6:30am and we left at 6am. The beds were comfortable and there was a choice of firm or soft pillows.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeking17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

From the first step in the door, the experience has been amazing. Excellent front desk service.
The room is fantastic - spacious and well appointed with updated furniture and decor. There is a desk, reading chair, queen size bed, 40+" flatscreen and kitchenette with everything needed (microwave, dishes, fridge, cleaning supplies). Nice soaps and shampoos in the bathroom.
I have a 7th floor room with a nice view.
Location is great - close to the Canal, Elgin St. has great restaurants (Oz Kafe) and grocery stores. 1 block from Museum of Nature and 2 blocks from a newly renovated YMCA with pool, large gym and lots of fitness class and yoga offerings.
There is also a small gym at the hotel.
Breakfast comes with the room (looking forward to that tomorrow!). Parking is extra but free with a CAA (discount on the room with CAA too).
The icing on the cake here is the sauna on the 8th floor - felt like a spa experience! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlateIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Address: 377 O'Connor St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing