We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptionally Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This newly renovated hotel is exceptionally clean, and the staff is very friendly. We stayed overnight at the end of May and while our room on the 20th floor afforded a stunning view of the city of Ottawa, the room itself was very, very small. If I stayed there again I would make sure to find out if there are larger rooms, or perhaps a suite, and would book one. Parking is extra at $15 a night which I trhink is a little steep, however we were able to just park on the street across from the hotel. The breakfast was very good, and fresh and again the staff was very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the hotels larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Your feedback is appreciated! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the view and our helpful staff. Looking forward to your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    414
    143
    33
    21
See reviews for
216
287
34
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to Ottawa the long weekend in May (18-20) this year for some sightseeing and to attend a playoff hockey game between the Ottawa Senators and the Pittsburgh Penguins. We were booked into the Delta Ottawa City Centre and it couldn't have been better. it was easy to get to, plenty of parking, and the rooms were almost like new. We were 1 ten minute walk to pretty much anywhere downtown - ie the Parliament bldgs, the Byward Market, the Rideau Centre, the Rideau Canal to name a few. All of these sights were an easy walk and getting to the game via Ottawa transit was just outside our hotel and extremely easy. Waaay easier than trying to park at an NHL play-off game! Ottawa is a beautiful city and our stay at the Delta was extremely pleasant. Staff was helpful and friendly and we wanted to stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryK989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Delta in May during the long weekend. We absolutely love the lobby and the friendly stuff. Our room was on the 21st floor and although we had a view of the office buildings of downtown Ottawa we still enjoy the view. Room was gorgeous, spacious, clean and stylish.
Instead of parking at the hotel, we parked at a nearby street for free.
We are very satisfied with the hotel and we will be definitely staying here again!

Room Tip: We love our room on the 21st floor; It was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zajasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for letting us know how you did and how much you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,468 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Delta Ottawa City Centre only because the Chateau Laurier was sold out. To make up for our disappointment, we booked a one-bedroom ModeClub suite (which was almost half the price of a similar room at Chateau Laurier) through a summer promotion on Delta's website.

Upon arrival we were very impressed by how new, modern and chic the hotel looked. The lobby was bright, airy and modern-- very different from any other Delta hotel we have stayed at. We chose to leave the car with the valet ($27 per day with unlimited in and out privileges) rather than waste time searching for a spot in the garage. Any time we called down for the car it was always waiting for us by the time we got to the lobby.

We were a bit concerned by the throngs of gi-clad children running around barefoot (the hotel was hosting some kind of karate convention or competition), so we were glad that we had plumped for the club floor where there would hopefully be few children.

Although it was only noon, we were able to check into our suite on the 23rd floor. The very friendly and professional front desk clerk (Bob) told us that we had actually been upgraded to a suite with a larger bathroom because the room we'd been assigned was not ready.

Our suite was an excellent size and very nicely furnished. Everything was in immaculate condition. The bathroom was indeed quite large (contrary to those in the regular rooms), with good quality towels and very plush bathrobes. We really liked the Philosophy bath products, and the bed was very comfortable (good quality sheets, down duvet and feather pillows). The windows actually open (a rarity in most hotels it seems) so we were able to turn of the climate control system and enjoy the breeze and sounds of the city 23 floors below. We had a view of the office buildings of downtown Ottawa, but there was a side view towards the river and Gatineau. We also booked a regular room for someone else, and she was on the opposite side of the hall with a brighter view over the river (no skyscrapers in the way). Her room was also nicely appointed, but indeed the bathroom was small.

Our ModeClub suite gave us turndown service (used towels replaced, bottled water and chocolates left bedside, soothing music playing on the radio, etc.), free local phone calls and access to the Privilege Lounge on the 25th floor. This is the one area of the hotel that needs some attention. The doors are left propped open, and no staff member was there to check room keys, so absolutely anyone could come and go as they pleased during the breakfast service or happy hour. Happy hour offerings consisted of a variety of cheeses, grapes, crackers, crudely chopped and presented vegetables, and some sad M&M Meats style spring rolls and cheese puffs. Some guests seemed to be treating happy hour as their opportunity to score a free dinner, and heaped their plates full every time the 'buffet' was replenished. There was only one attendant working, and she seemed overwhelmed trying to keep up with replenishing the food, clearing the tables, and taking drink orders from those (like us) who wanted a glass of wine.

The breakfast service was even worse. The room was very crowded with families and the items offered (muffins, bagels, bread, yogurt, sliced fruit, cereals, hardboiled eggs, cold cuts, coffee and tea, canned juice) were not replenished frequently enough to keep up with the demand. Delta definitely needs to monitor guest access to this lounge and add another staff member during peak times.

We ordered a late night room service meal and were impressed by the prompt service. The classic turkey club with sweet potato fries was good and reasonably priced. One morning we went to the restaurant on the mezzanine level for breakfast, but we were unimpressed by the buffet offerings and the limited (and pricey) menu, so we went to Sparks Street instead. Unless you want hot items like eggs or bacon, the Privilege Lounge is probably your best bet for breakfast (as long as you don't have to fight crowds to get it).

We did use the fitness centre (small, but nicely equipped) but not the pool (too crowded with kids). There is also a grassed terrace adjacent to the indoor pool that is a nice spot to get some sun and air.

Overall we were very pleasantly surprised with the accommodations, facilities and service at Delta Ottawa City Centre. The hotel is in a great location (easily walkable to all of the major downtown attractions) and the young staff aim to please (especially the front desk clerks and valet staff). We would definitely consider staying here again, but only if we could book a ClubMode suite, as the regular rooms are a little small.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms will face the office towers of downtown. Even numbered rooms will have less-obst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kodachrome_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon! Your positive feedback will be passed along to our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed only one night for a family function. The room was compact and nice but missing a safe. There is a bar which serves food until 11:30 which was convenient. Very well located.
There was a national Taekwondo competition happening in the hotel which made it very noisy and crawling with people. It was very hard to get an elevator and once you were in, it would stop at every floor.
When I booked the hotel, there was no mention of this event, I think I would have gone elsewhere had I know it was going to be so crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the new rooms during your stay over Victoria long weekend. Safes are available at the front desk for future references. We do apologize sincerely for the speed of the elevators it has been noted for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I recently spent three nights in this hotel. Overall the hotel was quite good. We arrived late at night after driving from Toronto. When we walked into the hotel we noticed that there were four staff members standing around the front desk.

I checked us in and the male that checked me in didn't bother to tell me the room number, the floor, where the elevators were, how parking worked and how internet worked in the hotel. I found this a little rude and less than helpful.

The room overall was fairly nice however the we noticed that on a windy night you could feel and hear air coming through the window, it could have done with a new seal. The a/c was difficult to adjust and get a good temperature, despite it having a digital display, it was either too hot or too cold.

The bathroom was functional however tiny. If you are a large person you would not be able to stand in front of the toilet whilst swinging the door closed.

I would recommend this hotel however not at full price, make sure you get a great deal, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83poolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some of your precious time to give us your feedback. We will follow up on the details you have mentioned. We sincerely apologize and hope you'll give us another chance on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were immediately greeted in the elevator by a staff member who engaged us is casual converstation regarding our stay. It seemed like he actually cared and was trying to make us feel welcome. When we checked in it was fast an we were quickly informed about the locations of amenities and hours of operation of certain services. We were a little suprised to have two double beds in our room, but then we didn't feel like bringing it up. I am sure if we had mentioned it they would have rectified it immediately. We also booked through hot-wire, so that was most likely the reason for this small gaffe. Comfy beds, comfy room temperature. A little shocked there was no bar fridge and that we had to travel 2 floors to get bottled water. Bathroom was spotless, well lit, but a little on the small side.

Great service at the restaurant/lounge. The food was well priced and tasty. The beverages were also reasonably priced for a hotel. The selection was not out of the this world, but had something for everyone. Local beer on tap which is always nice.

18 bucks for parking we thought was reasonable. Checkout was quick and accommodating. They offered to hold out baggage which was a nice gesture.

Overall, decent rooms, fantastic service. No need to worry about getting lost on the mezzanine. Layout was well thought out. Would recommend for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific type of bed, either two doubles, one king etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpike765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolaine1202, Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Your comments are appreciated, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
Address: 101 Lyon St N, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business travellers, meeting attendees, and friends and families will be delighted with an outstanding variety of food and flavours as well as warm customer service in a clean, and friendly place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing