We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa
Ranked #17 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family and I were pleasantly surprised with the residence. Check-in was very quick and well-organized. On-site parking is FREE! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our 2 bedroom suite was located on the 7th floor and was much larger than expected and exceptionally clean. Actually, the entire residence was exceptionally clean from the lobby to the hallways to the dining hall. The free continental breakfast was plentiful and had a nice variety. The dining hall had floor to ceiling windows and looked out at a pretty courtyard. The residence is located within minutes to all of the major attractions of Ottawa, including the Parliament building. Travellers and guests do need to remember that this is a residence and not a 5 star hotel; therefore, the expectation needs to be just that. If you are looking for a very clean, conveniently located, affordable place to stay in Ottawa - this residence will surely not disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiZettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
40
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My family and I were delighted with the residence. Very clean. Friendly staff. Nice sized rooms. We got the last 2 suites in the place, so had to be on seperate floors, but that was ok. My mom and I were on the 6th floor, and it was so peaceful and quiet. Only saw one other person in two days. My daughter, son-in-law and grandson were on the 4th floor, and there were some students there, but all noise was over with by 11pm.
The rooms are clean, neat, and spacious. The whole place was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was more then expected. Continental breakfasts are usually coffee, juice and a muffin or something similar. They had coffee, tea, hot cocolate, juices, milk, toast, bagels, instant oatmeal, cold cereals, and yogurt. Just help yourself to any or all of it. The dining room was cheerful, but even better is a beautiful parklike setting with picnic, and patio tables under the trees where you can sit and enjoy your breakfast and just relax before your day begins.

Room Tip: Not a reliable wifi connection on the 6th floor, but there is a small room in the lobby with a comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne_691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Be prepared - it's a university residence! But all things considered it's affordable, conveniently located, parking is free and there's a free breakfast. WiFi is not great, but available on the floor lounge. If you want to save some money this is a great place to stay. Your room has a kitchenette and you can prepare lunches there for your days out touring the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank principledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good value and the place gave a homely feeling. well managed with 2 bed rooms in every apartment. possibly the best palce to be in ottawa.... the place was very near to the parliament.... Lots of parking space. Breakfast was good and very well managed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goofy727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Checked in. 20 minutes later checked out. This is a hostel with high school aged kids running around like it's a playground. Internet available only in student lounges on 1st, 4th and 7th floors and NOT available in rooms.

Complained to from desk. They seemed unconcerned by noisy students because it's a hostel. Not a hotel. We gave up our paid room in favor of sanity in a real hotel.

Don't be fooled by low prices. it's still overpriced for what you get. Oh, and you'll end up parking quite a distance away as only 10 spots are available near the building.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Clean rooms. Good service.
Free breakfast.
Wifi signal is poor in rooms, access point located in ball room

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maminej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My son's graduation trip was there in the heat wave on June 20-22, the air conditioning was not working and they did nothing to compensate them. It seemed like they were not in a rush to get it repaired as it was only a bunch of grade 8's staying there.

Not impressed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.9 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.7 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
1.7 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa

Property: Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa
Address: 150 Hazel St, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 5T8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence and Conference Centre - Ottawa Downtown is located in Canada's Capital Ottawa, Ontario and is your alternative to the less affordable downtown Ottawa hotels. At Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa Downtown, we offer you great value for your money while still providing the amenities you have come to expect from other Ottawa hotels. Our spacious suites with kitchenettes offer comfortable accommodations for those looking for extend stay hotels. Guests of Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa Downtown will enjoy amenities such as air conditioning, high speed internet access, refrigerator, free local telephone calls and cable television are standard in each suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing