We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot”
Review of Barefoot Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barefoot Hostel
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool spot”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Cool spot in a good location in Ottawa. Right next to the market area, and not far from the river and the Quebec side of the capital region, or from Parliament Hill and the Canal. The hotel staff at the sister hotel checks one in, and they are all very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
4
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Barefoot Hostel is a great place to stay!
There was a living room and simple kitchen on the first floor. Everything was clean and comfortable in the hostel. There were free computers to use and sofas to relax on!

The most amazing thing about this hostel is the location! Most of the attractions are within walking distance! And there is a supermarket a min's walk away!

They provide almost everything you need in a hostel.

Great one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby19892000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My experience(s) at the barefoot hostel has been very satisfying. I have been in difficult situations. I just love the place and the swiss hotel. I sat out in the back porch with a new friend, I called Joe Fresh- a grey and black tabby cat. I need my own place somehow yet it was great to be with people and share coffee and sweep the floor somestimes. I was treated like family and enjoyed the showers. More like a shared house than a hostel. Robin M. Klein

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was my first hostel experience. Very clean, very well maintained, and quiet. The hostel is also very well located - 5 minute walk to a direct bus to the airport, 5 minutes from the thriving Byward Market, about a 15 minute walk to Parliament Hill, and a 30 minute walk to Rideau Hall, the War Museum, and the Museum of Civilization.

This is not a party hostel.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crr243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had read good reviews about this hostel and was not disappointed! Must be the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. The owner who checked me in/out was absolutely lovely, very friendly, very helpful and made me feel welcome. The communal living space was very homely, comfortable sofas, PCs and a huge TV. It felt more like a 'home' than a hostel, I guess because there is no 'on-site' staff as such - they are based in the hotel next door. The rooms were an ok size, not the biggest, but there are lockers and each bed has a personal shelf. The bedding was extremely comfortable and the showers huge! I stayed during a lovely sunny summer week so myself and my friends made use of the fab BBQ in the garden - a great touch! I would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bio_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I would like to thank the owner for this great experience, almost lost hope in canadian hostels...

We arrived in late afternoon, went as written on the note at the door to the swiss hotel, picked up the key cards from a wonderful kind and friendly receptionist and even got tips for Canada day what to see and where to go.

Entering the hostel itself, a cosy livingroom is welcoming you, with a small kitchen attached. Most amazingly 2 really comfy couches, 2x 21” computer and even a 51” (?) flatscreen!
While watching tv in the evening the owner of the hotel and hostel came over and brought fresh flowers for the table – never had that before in any hostel..
4 reasonable sized rooms with a fan, locker and a design bathroom.. which hostel has a glass sink and a shower where you can dance in? before I forget – it was clean!

When checking out they locked away my valuables in the office while I went shopping to the 5 minutes away shopping mall..!
But bring your credit card to check in, this is great and protects guests and owner, no people on hostel blacklists can enter there..

Thanks for making this a great Canada Day in Ottawa! Greets from Montreal!

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same, with fan and so.. friendly people as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We dont all have a credit card,
with a place called Barefoot Hostel you would think that cash and proper ID would be sufficiant
but nooo
so the Hell with them, go somewhere else.
The place is ugly and smells, crack heads outside the front door

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dosuncampdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Barefoot Hostel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We regret having had to turn you away because of your not having a credit card. Although there are other hostels in the city which do not require a credit card to make a reservation, this is one of our policies, as we state on our website. We are especially vigilant about this as the hostel is mixed dormitory style and the security and comfort of our guests is paramount. We are sorry you were mislead by the name of our hostel, the security standards we apply at the Barefoot are the same for its sister business, the Swiss Hotel, a four-star hotel. We are also sorry to hear that you found Ottawa smelly - if you had had the opportunity to stay with us, you would see we apply our hotel's cleanliness standards to the hostel as well, which provides some respite from unfortunate urban odors, and we also tend a garden for the guests, which is quite sweet-smelling at this time of year.

Again, we are sorry we could not check you in, as per our policy.
Artem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swiss Hotel
#30 of 67 in Ottawa
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Hostel

Property: Barefoot Hostel
Address: 455 Cumberland Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N7J8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Hostel in Downtown Ottawa is a small, independently-owned, women's-only 16-bed backpackers' haven. With a modern decor and white bedding only (duvet and duvet cover), our affordable hostel offers one of the best experiences for a visit to Ottawa on a budget with free internet computer use and free WiFi. We keep a backyard patio in the summer with a BBQ for our guests. We are within walking distance of all major tourist attractions, including the Byward Market, Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre, Shaw Centre. Our hostel is a popular landing spot for women traveling to Ottawa, whether they are solo travelers, young business professionals, undergrads, masters and PhD students, US Visa applicants. Larger groups can rent the whole house (16 beds) to enjoy complete privacy. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, you can’t go wrong with how close we are to the heart of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Barefoot Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing