We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Thai Food... Ottawa and Beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talay Thai

Talay Thai
Ranked #318 of 2,725 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Food... Ottawa and Beyond!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've been going to this restaurant since it first opened, when it replaced an old greasy spoon. It's run by a husband and wife who are some of the most friendliest people I've met. I quickly became a loyal customer, both for weekly lunches and both romantic and business dinners.

The food is unbelievable - I'm a big fan of both their Pad Thai and Yellow Curry, and can't find a taste that compares anywhere else. Once you have it, you won't be able to eat Thai anywhere else!

Dinner presentation is another plus for evenings - dishes can be brought to be shared to ensure everyone can enjoy the food selection, and with presentation in carved pineapples, etc., it adds to the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was first time trying thai place in Ottawa. I went here because of the reviews on trip advisor and let me tell you I was very disappointed. I ordered the Pad Thai and it lacked flavour, the other thing was that they only offered the shrimp on their menu. I also ordered their fried rice with pork and I got chicken instead and it lacked flavour too. The only good thing was the red curry chicken. The curries do not come with rice on the side and the prices were very expensive. I spent $50 on three items. I will not go there again. I have had better Thai at a mall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Flavorful food, great service”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had dinner here on a friday evening, the place was packed, but we were seated promptly and courteously. We ordered the special duck and asparagus in chilli and garlic saute plus a chicken curry. The food was delicious! We've tried many thai restaurants before but this one is definitely one the best! The service was great, food arrived within ten minutes after ordering even when the restaurant was packed with people. The service was also very personable, polite and attentive but not in your face. My only complaint for the night was the really loud table of women sitting behind us that talked and laughed so loudly that it annoyed every table in the restaurant. They knew it too, but kept up the bad behavior.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
261 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I was fortunate to share the evening with three friends who had been to this restaurant before and were able to not only order some of their favorite appetizers and main dishes, but to share them all around. Every dish was nicely presented and well prepared using fresh ingredients. The coconut creme brulee was worth saving room for. The service was pleasant, but not intrusive. The portion sizes were not very large, so unfortunately we did not have any leftovers to take with us. Would I go back? Definitely, on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner; the food was very good and the service was friendly. The restaurant was clean and the staff made a good first impression.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talay Thai also viewed

 

Been to Talay Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing