We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite restaurants in Ottawa”
Review of ZenKitchen - CLOSED

ZenKitchen
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants in Ottawa”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been enjoying the Zen Kitchen for a few years and it has consistently delighted us with exceptional food and service. They have been very accommodating to our food sensitivities. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Ottawa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_and_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding vegan/vegetarian cuisine”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was our last night of three that we were able to spend time with our 19 year old daughter who had spent the past five weeks 24/7 in training at Royal Military College in Southern Quebec, so we were determined to find somewhere where we could really enjoy, and the food excellent.

Zen Kitchen was a last minute decision and such an amazingly wise one as it was clearly the most delicious food that we had in our three week journey out East. All the food is locally sourced and so wonderfully prepared and becomes a symphony of taste and colour while being presented like an absolute art piece. The staff are outstanding and so attentitive, - the service being impeccable. We were so fortunate to be able to make a last minute reservation and to be able to sit out on their small balcony in the warm September air with the sound of Sunday evening live jazz wafting from the indoors. Our daughter had two starters instead of an entree which were the Polenta Fries with chipotle mayo (absolutely amazing and I really don't like cornmeal but these are to die for!!) and Deconstructed Falafel (which is another amazing taste adventure). I had the Handcut Ravioli which is was wonderful with so many different vegetables coming through and my husband had the Fine Herb Gnocchi. I would return to this restaurant any time I am in Ottawa. A real find!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hidden_treasures4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you're looking for a great tasting menu and wonderfully presented with great service, then ZenKitchen is where you should go, even if you're a carnivore. One of us had the 4 course tasting menu and the other the 5 course so that we could share the "cheese" course (yes a vegan cheese plate - AMAZING!). Our waitress was friendly, knew the menu well and could make recommendations. She also asked upfront if we had any allergies and immediately asked the chef what I could have on the menu to make selection easier. The flavours were well balanced, the presentation was lovely, and the food was amazing. The wine selection was also very good. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't miss the meat...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Easily one of the best restaurants in Ottawa, and I say that as a former waiter. Not only are the staff friendly, efficient and non-obtrusive, but the owners are fabulous and show a lot of respect and care for their clientele. Plus the wine list has more VQA choices than most restaurants in the city. I take out-of-town friends here when I want to impress, and it works every time. And trust me, you won't miss the meat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAmDavidJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you are Vegetarian, go!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We went for Friday night dinner and ended up there again for brunch on Sunday morning. The food was delicious. Very interesting foods and flavours. You can eat outside on the front porch (although it is right beside the sidewalk and road) or enjoy the comfortable, trendy interior.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ActiveTempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZenKitchen also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing