We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parliament Hill and Buildings

Parliament Hill and Buildings
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.72*
and up
Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water
Ranked #2 of 254 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three Gothic Revival-style buildings, located on a 170-foot bluff overlooking the Ottawa River, house the offices of the members of Parliament, the House of Commons and the Senate. Free guided tours delve into Canadian history and explain the workings of the political system.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are plenty of statues to look at (mostly past prime ministers, but also some of the Queen and other historical figures such as the Famous 5), along with nice views of the Ottawa River and the canal locks.

If you're there during the summer, make sure to check out the stairs down to the walking path near the river. Not the obvious ones near the locks - the hidden ones near the cat tree house. Also, check out the cat tree house! One of the lesser-known features of the Hills, heh.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMoore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,496
    1,577
    257
    29
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A relative visited in July, so we took him to do all the usual touristy things. He's deaf, so we had to call ahead for a sign language interpreter. It was a little difficult to set up a date (I think there's only one interpreter, so it's based on her schedule), but once the reservation was made, it wasn't a hassle at all. We met with our tour group (there were about 20 of us, total) in the pavilion outside, and then the interpreter met us in the lobby inside. For whatever reason, I wasn't expecting there to be an airport-style xray machine and metal detector, but there was. I lost $5 because the scanner somehow sucked it up out of the bowl... I guess they've got to pay for those renovations somehow!
I suppose your experience would vary depending on the guide, but ours was great - lots of interaction, and he provided plenty of information but not too much of the really dry stuff. It was neat seeing the chambers and the library, but I was most impressed with the architecture - the building is gorgeous. Plenty of stonework, lots of patterned ceilings, and wonderful stained glass. At the end of the tour, the wait for the Peace Tower was a bit too long, so we went back down to the lobby and my mom realized that she didn't get a look at the Olympic memorabilia they had displayed in the library. We asked a security guard, thinking they would probably just dismiss us (the library has really restricted access), but he was very accommodating and arranged for another guard to escort us to the library. We got an up-close look at the Vancouver 2010 torch and some Diamond Jubilee artifacts, since we were the only one in the library. It was a nice treat and I was impressed with the staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMoore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well taken care of”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

They have nice sound and light shows at night during the summer. They also have activities during Canada Day. It is well taken care of and guarded by the RCMP. There are a few places to visit in the back, including a shelter for cats.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank curious106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“When in Rome....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Gotta go if in Ottawa. A must see if you are in Ottawa, even if just from afar. Nicely lit during the holidays!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trvlbug31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The FIRST reason to visit Ottawa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is must visit place in every season. Try to arrive early in the morning to avoid the long line-up. After the 3rd visit, I finally got a chance to come up the tower and enjoy the historical view. Nicely decorated on Christmas.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yosefindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Hill and Buildings also viewed

 

Been to Parliament Hill and Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing