We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Canadian War Museum
from $48.20
More Info
from $85.60
More Info
from $14.95
More Info
Reviews (4,227)
Filter reviews
3,763 results
Traveler rating
2,823
793
113
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,823
793
113
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military vehicles hitler's car vimy ridge peace keeping the lower level history buff first nations on display interactive displays all ages few hours special exhibit well worth the visit unknown soldier visiting ottawa parliament hill tanks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,763 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was my second visit to the museum in as many trips to Ottawa. It's well worth the time to look through the exhibits carefully.
The social exhibit on 100 Days to Victory is well laid out and full of interesting tidbits. Take the time to play the game and get a feel for how the differing campaigns are planned. We made it through with only six casualties. Not bad considering a couple bad rolls. The chance element really adds that dose of the unexpected and unanticipate-able.

There are also frequently special presentations in the lobby area. The book cart for Remembrance Day made for some interesting reading.
Take your time and learn about this history. Some of it is uncomfortable, but it's all information we need to learn - Lest We Forget.

Thank SusyTops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Most fun I ever had at a museum. Very cool field trip and I had a blast being there. I also think hitler car was a very cool prop

Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

had little time to visit, was able to "walk" through all the rooms and enjoy the amount of history that during another visit will be worth a few hours

Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum fills in many of the spaces in history with personal stories and interesting artifacts. War stories become real and personal. It does a great job at broadening perspective and engaging empathy. Because of the amount of information and the number of stories it is a lot to take in during only one visit.

Thank penurious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent place for all visitors to get a first hand look at the contributions that Canadians made in the wars we have participated in. It also provides a look at the present day Canadian Forces. There are many displays depicting the hardships and dangers of wars.

Thank Sailduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our trip to Ottawa was for the Remembrance Day ceremony to honour the 100th year armistice of WW1. We specifically went to see the special exhibit of the "Victory 1918 - The Last 100 Days" special exhibit. It was well explained and layed out. The information was a nice mix of video and displays and gave detailed inciteful information about this time period and the involvement of the Canadians. I would also recommend the free guided tour of some of the other areas of the museum. The guide spoke about different areas of the museum and also about the building of the museum and the design of different areas (Raymond Moriyama). Of particular note were the Memorial Hall and the lighting of the headstone of the unknown soldier on Remembrance Day each year. Another highlight was the Regeneration Hall with its view of the Peace Tower and the plaster models of the statues on the Vimy memorial in France, made by Walter Allward. The museum is large and well layed out. It proudly presents Canada's involvement in conflict and peace throughout the country's history. A good way to spend several hours.

Thank DSAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this museum for what it isn't - it does not glorify war but gives a realistic overview to conflict and peace. The architecture of the building itself is worth a visit.

Thank Brigid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum is very well organized. You can see the whole museum in one trip and follow it from the earliest date and walk through to the most recent date. Or you can just go to the times that are of interest to you. There are extensive amounts of very interesting information with lots of historical items and displays. You could centre into just one or two areas and spend a whole day in a very specific time zone.

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

So happy to have taken the local Scout Troop to experience the past hundred years plus of effort by Canadian Forces to address the worst times of human conflict. I was pleased at the tone and approach of the museum's interactive exhibits - and how they included a special effort for their youth visitors. Thanks.

Thank ScouterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Plenty to see. Galleries upstairs are interesting, showing Canadian particiation in the Wars. The map comes in handy, as the upstairs displays can leave you missing out on some displays.
Downstairs they have the machinery that has been used in combat. A great display. They do have a gift shop and full restaurant on site.
Parking in downstairs, inside the building, or on meters in the Street. Handicap accessible.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews