We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Ottawa Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
174

Book in advance
from
$28.54
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Rideau Hall
from $28.54
More Info
from $65.59
More Info
from $92.60
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
322
241
53
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
322
241
53
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews governor general trees planted tent room official residence rose garden visiting dignitaries nelson mandela open to the public queen elizabeth ii guided tour nice grounds canadian history prime minister street parking excellent tour beautiful building guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 628 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

The GG estate is very nice to visit all year around. We visited in the early summer in order to tour the grounds and have a picnic with the kids. The lawn provides a nice place for the picnic and the kids could run free. They also have a small playground for the kids. A nice afternoon outing.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and had a lovely outing at Rideau Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

The residence of Canada's Governor General, currently Julie Payette, Rideau Hall is a free attraction. You can stroll the massive grounds, watch a game of cricket and read the plaques next to many trees to see the names of those who planted them, including JFK and Queen Elizabeth.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Gregsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

We would like to thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Rideau Hall, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

You need to make a reservation to tour the building which is free, the guide was ex military and did a very good job covering the history of the place and how it evolved over the years.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive feedback regarding your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

Check web site to see if reservations are needed on the day you plan to visit. Even calling a month ahead of time, my perfer time was already booked up. Plan ahead and have a picnic lunch of the grounds before or after the tour. Parking is on residental streets around the property, although I didn't have any problems finding a spot near one of the side gates. Lucked out and arrived just in time a for rededication of a statue of Queen Elizabeth at the front gate. The tour is about 45 minutes long and covers just a small part of this working building. Rooms were set up for a reception after the rededication, so, the tour was a lttle rushed.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank NCtravellerDurhamNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your experience at Rideau Hall. Indeed, this time of year can be very busy! We are happy to hear that you were able to find parking easily and join one of our guided tours despite this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2019

Went to visit where the Governor General lives, the Rideau Hall, with friends from the States. Interesting if you want to know the history, however if you want to see the ‘house’ and gardens you won’t see much, a few rooms, unfurnished, except the last room where they display different medals. You cannot even visit the gardens. Boring and long for me and my husband. You have to find parking out on the streets.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Thank you for providing details about your experience at Rideau Hall. I'm very sorry that your visit left you a little bit unimpressed.
We rely on feedback from visitors like yourself to improve our visitor experience. I would invite you to contact me at guide@gg.ca in order to discuss your experience at greater length, and I'm welcome to hearing any suggestions that you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews