We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rideau Hall

Rideau Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.27*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #15 of 255 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rideau Hall is the official residence and workplace of every governor general since 1867. This national historic site, situated in an idyllic 79-acre urban oasis, is located only a few minutes from downtown Ottawa and Gatineau.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Made it in time to be the last visitors to the building. The docents were amazing, knowledgeable, and patient. The interior is impressive but the grounds are the best part. Love all the trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    177
    38
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Governor General's House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Situated at the end of a long driveway in some lovely parkland, RIdeau Hall is the official residence of the Queen's representative in Canada. To see troops in bearskins and red jackets feels very odd when you know you are 3,000 miles from London. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and are delighted to inform you about their wonderful country. Did you know that until 1947 Canadians had to have UK passports?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeCWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The grounds are large and beautiful to walk around. The tour was very interesting and you have to love the tent room. Having received a Governor General's gold medal in the past, it was very cool to see them on display in the awards and medals room. This tour is free and well worth taking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feel into the tour by accident -- glad I did!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The grounds are spectacular -- so lush and beautiful. Grabbed the self-guided pamphelt and started working my way to Rideau Hall, where I was met by an eager and friendly tour guide who informed us the a tour would start momentarily if we were interested (we were)! Through a quick security check, we were ushered inside...Again, our tour guide (Riley) was enthusiasitc and knowledgeable -- really worked well with the kids so they weren't bored. Rooms were stunning! It was nice to have a look inside such a regal dwelling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heartsinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good place to learn about Canada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful grounds, with an especially nice rose garden. The visitor center features an informative display that quickly got this clueless American visitor up to speed on how Canadian government works, and the relationship between Canada and the British monarchy. The staff in the visitor center all seemed young and possibly doing some sort of national service; they were uniformly helpful and pleasant.

I walked all the way out from downtown, but there were no buses back (it was a weekend). I would not recommend this to others as the path is uninteresting and follows a busy road, plus there were few places to stop for food and water.

Overall, I felt this was an important place to visit, and I would recommend it to other visitors, particularly non-Canadians.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Hall also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing