We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Family Fun!”
Review of Rideau Canal

Rideau Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.47*
and up
Ottawa Highlights Half-Day Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 267 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest landmarks in Ottawa, this canal is filled with boats in the summer and becomes the "World's Longest Skating Rink" in the winter.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Winter Family Fun!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A great outdoor experience! Our children are too small to skate so we hired a sleigh - I sat with the baby and toddler while their Dad pushed us along (he kept very warm skating; we rugged up in a blanket). We had lots of stops, ate delicious hot poutine and beaver tails and soaked up the lovely scenery.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank eatfishcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,442
    1,085
    160
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We just loved it. Haven't been three in 20+ years. Nothing has changed, still charming and great exercise. Love the beavertails snack.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow... what a skate”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The ice conditions were excellent... well done! Best to check in advance for ice conditions. Good foodies along the length

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“world's largest skating rink”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lots and lots of fun skating the Rideau Canal Skateway known as the world's largest skating rink! We came to Ottawa the past weekend just to skate on this before they closed. There are a lot of rest stops with benches and food stands along the way. The entire track is 7.8km. We did the entire thing and back, totally worth it! There are people walking along side with shoes as well or pulling their children on a sled, definitely fun times with either just friends or family!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank katsaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a great way to spend a day”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My daughter and I skated the Rideau Canal and what a great experience it was. The Canal was packed with like minded people just enjoying the day, the vendors selling Beaver Tails and Hot Choclate must have made a fortune that day but it was well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BreezeRidge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Canal also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing