We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Locks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Canal

Rideau Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.58*
and up
Ottawa Spring Tulip Festival Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 254 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest landmarks in Ottawa, this canal is filled with boats in the summer and becomes the "World's Longest Skating Rink" in the winter.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
450 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Interesting Locks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed viewing the locks and watching them work. They allowed 208 km of canals to work effectively.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,360
    1,034
    152
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nn10 8bz
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful Rideau- especially in Autumn (sorry Fall!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We paid $40 cad and for that enjoyed a lovely, peaceful and picturesque trip down the Rideau Canal to Dows' lake and then out onto the Ottawa River (2 separate trips) - great value!! This way you get to see Ottawa at its very very best. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank missmoz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, sk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful by bike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We rented the local Bixi-bikes available in Ottawa for a small fee to explore the Canal. I think it worked out to 15.00 for two hours. The paths are perfect for biking and walking with two separate lanes. Biking is a great way to see more of the Canal and if you're like us it means you get to do something you wouldn't normally do at home. You could easily pack a picnic and find a place along the Canal to enjoy a nice, scenic lunch. It was beautiful in fall and I imagine is equally pretty in summer!

Helpful?
Thank travelaholic_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“European Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

"The canal reminds me of the ___ river in Paris (I can't actually spell it, my wife is dictating this review)", says Wife.

I thought it was pretty cool too, lots of trees, very quiet, not a lot of boat traffic, it was a great example of nature in the Ottawa area and worth a look. Good photo opportunities if that's your thing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Rideau Canal links Ottawa with Kingston and becomes an ice rink during the winter months...amazing!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Canal also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing