We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic use of green space!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Canal

Rideau Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.58*
and up
Ottawa Spring Tulip Festival Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 254 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest landmarks in Ottawa, this canal is filled with boats in the summer and becomes the "World's Longest Skating Rink" in the winter.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic use of green space!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

So nice to see these trails and oaths along both sides of the canal. Absolutely beautiful first thing in the morning. Lots of people out being active either walking, running or biking. Would be helpful if there were distance markers but really can't complain as the surface is flat and well maintained.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,360
    1,034
    152
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sainte-Marthe, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We walked next to it. It is very nice to walk in the park next to the canal. We did not take a tour boat because we had so many other sites to see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great attraction under our nose.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having lived in the area forever you forget to see the sights that visitors enjoy. This attraction is one of these that we visited this summer and it is a magnificent display of planning and work from Canada's past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Rideau Canal located by the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa is a beatiful place for a stroll. It's a lovely area, free (!) and gives a great view of the city from a different perspective.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seasons Change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Having travelled along the Rideau Canal by foot and on a tour boat,it's beautiful and relaxing. So easy to forget you're in the middle of a bustling city. We've been in Spring, budding trees and spring flowers abound, summer everything in full bloom, cooling no matter how hot and humid the weather. Fall is one of the best times, the gorgeous riot of fall foliage. Haven't managed a winter getaway yet but looking forward to skating on the canal and maybe even enjoying a Beaver Tail...or two. Recommend it to all my friends.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRachelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Canal also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing