We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to do for all first times.”
Review of Rideau Canal

Rideau Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.32*
and up
Ottawa Highlights Half-Day Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 256 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest landmarks in Ottawa, this canal is filled with boats in the summer and becomes the "World's Longest Skating Rink" in the winter.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must to do for all first times.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you hear in winter do check this out i was here few years back and its was must for my husband as he havent done the canal and he was 33 years old at time. I was here as a teenager so done few times.

I would check out others peoples review as there have more upto date with prices and stuff.

Love having the beaver tail and hot chocolate.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mommy2Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,405
    1,064
    156
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dress warmly and have a blast”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Once again we had the delight of skating on the Rideau canal while visiting our daughter over Winterlude. The ice can be a little rough and you do have to be wary of ice divots but it is a super way to get fresh air, exercise and fun with friends. Be sure to pace yourself. There are numerous rest spots were you can grab a hot chocolate or a world famous Beavertail. We always take a small backpack to keep our winterboots in while we are skating. Skate rentals are available.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Scratch that one off the bucket list”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice day skate down the Rideau, grab a Beaver tail and cup of hot chocolate and have a rest. The negative things are the ridiculous prices for skate rentals $16 for 2 hours go get a used pair than sell them back when your done. The ice conditions are horrible and we saw 2 people getting stretchered off in a matter of about a half hour. If they Zamboni the ice frequently more people could enjoy themselves I would not recommend skating if you are not a good skater very bad ice conditions. They could also use more benches or they could build some seats out of snow from the Zamboni. Go do it just be careful if you are not that great of a skater.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Senior_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Skating on the canal”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great fun to skate the canal in winter. If you do all the way, you'll have skated 7.8km one way. Skates can be rented on the canal. I rented mine at the pavilion at the end of the canal, but you can get some in the middle and at the beginning too. The beginning or 0.0km is downtown. You leave 20$ and your ID when you rent the skates and will get it back when you return the skates. The fee is by the hour, I think the first hour costs 12$.
There are refreshment stalls along the canal and if you already haven't, get a Beavertail. It's a typical Ottawan fried pastry snack. It's good!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A must do. The first few kilometres from the beginning at the north end of the canal (near Confederation Park) will be very choppy as this is the busy area causing the ice to be rough and covered in snow so it's hard to see the cracks and other obstacles that make some people fall. Keep your eyes slightly ahead for cracks in the ice and small coloured circles about 10 inch in diameter painted on the ice usually along the middle area of the ice. These mark round divots in the ice that can be about 3 inches deep. The further you go along the 7.8 kilometre length, the better the surface gets as it appears most do not do the distance. There are vendors along the way on the ice such as Beavertails and other choices for drinks such as hot chocolate, etc. I can't say what other venders were there as I only went to Beavertails. Yum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rideau Canal also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing