We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Expected”

D&S Southern Comfort BBQ
Ranked #391 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Barbeque like ottawa has never seen, till now.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After reading the positive reviews and also being fans of genuine BBQ ribs we stopped here on an early Saturday afternoon.

The first thing I noticed was that there wasn't an overly distinctive smell of that smoked BBQ in the air outside and even when inside the restaurant it was not really noticable either. Service was good but then again it was not busy at that time of the afternoon.

As for our meals, my St. Louis Cut Pork Ribs full rack ($26.00) did not bowl me over, they didn't have that distinctive smoky BBQ flavor I like and they were a bit tough, not fall off the bone like I've had other places. My wife had the Beef Back Ribs full rack ($24.00) and my same comments apply to her's also as well as the fact that they advertise these ribs are HUGE but really they aren't any larger that you can buy at a grocery store meat counter. My wife liked the french fries and coleslaw sides but I found the BBQ beans didn't taste like real BBQ, they had more of a tangy as opposed to BBQ'y flavor.

Overall the meal wasn't awful, I'd say Average to just Poor although it's a fairly safe bet we won't return but will instead wait for our trip(s) south of the border for better BBQ'd ribs.

Value for $$ (No)...Recommended (Not really)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    24
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ate there last Sunday. Experienced the best food ever and even better service. I would recommend this place to anyone. Great Job!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and the best service in town!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My hubby and I have come to love D and S and are known to stop there every couple of weeks. We have come to love the food, as well as, Cheryl and the crew. We're treated like family and no request is ever too much. Always accommodating, always gracious. The food - to die for.

Keep up the great work!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlieKatt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite smokey flavour”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Satisfying tastes and smells and a comfortable atmosphere. The menu offers a good variety and the food will definitely please. Smokey goodness in so many delicious flavours. Gotta try this place - you won't be disappointed .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Food-enthusiast5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Texas BBQ”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I heard about this place and read the reviews here, so after my son's hockey game in Blackburn we decided to give it a whirl. First off, the place was packed and we were lucky to get seating for 8 without reservations.

I've been in this building before, and I can tell you it has been TOTALLY renovated -- no remnants of the prior business.

The food was excellent, if you like authentic Texas BBQ I'd say this is as close as you're going to get in the Ottawa area. My wife and I shared the Good Luck Platter (40.00). This included the armadillo eggs, wings, beef and pork ribs, smoked chicken. The sides were equally as good -- creamy coleslaw and the beans.

Kids menu was only 7.00 and portions were also large - great value.

Fun place to go and a great wait staff. I would recommend without hesitation if you like authentic Texas BBQ.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishizl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D&S Southern Comfort BBQ also viewed

 

Been to D&S Southern Comfort BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing