We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Going for Sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
Ranked #9 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $86
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth Going for Sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Thankfully, we reserved well in advance, knowing the place would be packed! Sarah had excellent communications with me prior to our arrival, and made sure that special menus were available to assist with our dietary requirements. The staff were friendly and efficient - you could see the teamwork throughout the evening. Overall we found our food to be extremely good, and with 12 plates amongst our five diners, we were able to try a lot of different items. The only miss was the beef cabbage roll - it did not meet up to the quality of the other dishes. The duck rillette was my particular favourite, but I think the pork belly was the star of the night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fairwaymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    381
    93
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I frequent play food and wine, service is fantastic and the food is always great. Love the atmosphere too, the market has a serious lack of good restaurants

Helpful?
Thank StephenStot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Horrible value, nice atmosphere, waste of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

went with two friends recently to Play for dinner. I want too hungry so I ordered a cheese plate and fried with Mayo. My friends ordered scallops, streak and tuna. My cheese plate was 14$ but was ridiculously simple and small. Instead if having nice garnishes (fruit and preserves, chutney etc) on thevsife, my cheese plate had just a few slices of cheese and crackers. I was shock ed. Never in my life have I seen such a bare, ungarnished cheese plate! I ordered a cheese plate from nearby Metropolitan recently and it was so beautifully decorated with lots of fruits etc. My friends' food was yummy but portions were ridiculously tiny. They paid more than 20 for each plate (with only 3 or 4 tiny bites of meat). The portion sizes are meant for a small child. The food was yummy but the price value ratio was unbearable
I would rather pay 20 something and get a fill sized Mel at baton rouge or milestones. The atmosphere was romantic and the servers were nice, so no complaints for those categories. I would recommend this restaurant only if you don't care about dollars per calorie.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roundbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wanted to lick the soup bowl clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food is here is superb. Anytime I have gone I wanted to lick the soup bowl clean. When it is busy, make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Downtown Ottawa and close to market. Smaller portions but great taste. Can mix and match allowing you to design your own meal

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarreMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing