We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play is a must!”
Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
Ranked #10 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $86
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Play is a must!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The four of us having dinner together were all very pleased by our culinary experience. Small plates, good variety, nice presentation. Excellent service. Worth going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebeckta, Owner at Play Food & Wine, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Geo88: Thanks so much for joining us at Play and then for taking the time to leave your great review on TA. I am so glad to read that you and your guests enjoyed your food, the menu and the service at Play so much, and I hope we get to welcome you back for another visit soon.

With many thanks,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    399
    98
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Close to Parliament and the major hotel area. Super decor and atmosphere.
The food was outstanding as was the presentation. Staff are most friendly. Very avant garde and hip. Great for couples and small groups of adults.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebeckta, Owner at Play Food & Wine, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear CalgaryKen: Thank you deciding to give us a try at Play and for this wonderful review on TA. I'm thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of your experience with us so much, and I'll be very happy to share your review with the whole team. I hope we get to see you the next time you are in town.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Different, delicious, a must”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited Play Food & Wine with colleagues for a business lunch and was delighted. The food choices are varied and tasty and the prices are remarkably reasonable for the location, smack in downtown Ottawa. The menu is flexible so you can order a variety of dishes to maximize your tasting experience.

The portions are sufficient, not overly large but certainly filling. I have particularly fond memories of the tartar. I would say the only downside is that the dishes on the menu all sound so interesting and yummy that it's really hard to pick, so I suppose a return visit is in order!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francoise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebeckta, Owner at Play Food & Wine, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Francoise:

Thanks for all of the great compliments for Play and for taking the time to leave them for our visitors on TA. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your recent business lunch with us so much. I love your descriptions of the food and your experience and I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great "find"”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Play (http://www.playfood.ca/) was a real treat. The restaurant has a number of smaller-size dishes intended to be shared. These are somewhat larger than tapas but not intended to be your only option for dinner. Prices run about $14 per savoury and a couple would want one or two appetizers and then split 3 or 4 dishes and then either cheese or a sweet. We started with the Charcuterie Platter (a nice size helping of four meat appetizers) and then split two dishes (Pike Cheeks and Gnocchi) and a 3-cheese tasting platter with one glass of wine and we got out for under $100.

The food was excellent but the waitress was part of the treat - she was talkative but not intrusive and she was extremely helpful. For a true food, you can sit at a counter facing into the kitchen and discuss each dish as it is being carefully crafted - and, based on our food, everything is built from scratch with fresh ingredients by people who love what they're doing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebeckta, Owner at Play Food & Wine, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Stephen P: Thank you so much for dining with us at Play and for taking the time to leave your review on TA. Such a nice compliment! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I really look forward to sharing your review with the team. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back personally for another visit to Play soon.

With many thanks,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great small plates for sharing”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant is great f you are lookin for something a little upscale. Lots of items to choose from, food fresh and well thought out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevebeckta, Owner at Play Food & Wine, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Anne H: Thank you so much for joining us at Play recently, and for taking the time to leave your kind thoughts with our visitors on TA. It's great to read that you enjoy our menu so much, and I hope I can have the chance to personally welcome you back for another visit soon.

With many thanks,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing