We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
39
89
82
35
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
39
89
82
35
34
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 279 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017

I cannot express well enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the Residence last weekend. A large number of our family stayed with us there; we used the two break out rooms a lot. The SA Lounge was "ours" exclusively and we relaxed there throughout our family weekend; it was very handy to our bedroom suites. The only negative was that we were informed that it was a locked room, were given keys to it - only to discover that the back door (near the pool table) was not locked, nor lockable when I asked the front desk about it. We moved our valuables into our suites for safekeeping. The Algonquin 2 Lounge at the end of the hall was also very much appreciated, especially on Friday night when we hosted our whole group for a pizza night. We were able to run a video conference call to non-attending family across Canada on the big screen in that room, as well - much appreciated.
The suites were spacious, clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, grounds well kept and attractive - very good value for our money. I would happily recommend this Residence to all.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCOttawa, Customer Relations at Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hello Pat H,

Thank you for the review. Your kind words touch our heart. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were happy with the comfort, privacy and cleanliness our facilities have to offer. We have some of the most competitive rates and best value-for-dollar in all of Ottawa.

We apologize for the confusion regarding the SA Lounge, but are happy to see you came to a good conclusion with it- and that your belongings were indeed safe.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Residence & Conference Centre-Ottawa West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The room was just as we expected. We had stayed in a similar set-up several years in a different city. Clean room, plenty of towels. Parking is an issue as it is very far from the room we had. No problem for the younger generation, but a lot of walking for senior citizens. As well it was 28 feeling like 38 on our arrival date. No carts were available. The on-site restaurant is closed for the summer, which is not mentioned on the website.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCOttawa, Customer Relations at Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hello Charles L,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the feedback.

We apologize for the issues you experienced with the amount of walking that our facilities require to get around. We hope you were able to get a room close to the exit. If you did not, it would have been possible to ask to be put in another, closer room.

We'd also like to apologize for the fact that we did not properly communicate the on-site store was closed during your stay. For next season, we will be looking into ways to communicate this.

Residence & Conference Centre-Ottawa West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

I rely on Tripadvisor reviews and in my experience they are usually bang on. Unfortunately I did a cursory look for this place and was reticent to book but decided to do so anyways based on my son's wishes to be with our entire group. Never again. First off, yes it is a residence so it is bare bones which I can handle as long as it is clean but it is not plus the AC issues are continuing. The worst part is that you need to watch what they charge you because it is not as presented and if they can charge you higher, they will and blame 'glitches' in the system that they can't do anything about. Management will not address and has no interest in hearing from you so please check this before you book and pay (save yourself the hassle and book elsewhere). After we returned, I read through these reviews and see that the incorrect charge issue isn't isolated and has happened before as well as other issues we experienced. In reading mgmt. responses here, it would be great if they could figure out better communication methods themselves if they cared enough for visitors instead of always asking reviewers for their suggestions as they sit back and do nothing but that again is indicative of my experience with them. As well the "customer service" training that they respond is important to them is unfortunately non existent nor improved. If I have helped at least one person to encourage to stay elsewhere as there are many fantastic options in Ottawa for the same price point (Courtyard Ottawa Downtown is fantastic!), it will have been worth my horrible experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PickyHoteller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCOttawa, Customer Relations at Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Hello PickyHoteller2011,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is in depth, and it is very clear you did some reading up before writing your review of our facilities.

We apologize for the issues you experienced with our AC. It is an issue we've been looking into, and will be addressing. As for the cleanliness of the room, we apologize it wasn't up to your standards, and we will be speaking with our staff about this.

Regarding how we engage with reviews on here, we have been encouraging our guests to help us with coming up with better ways to communicate our realities. The reason for this is because we are faced with a great deal of constraints in relation to our ability to communicate. We have a website, but not all of our bookings come from there. We have changed our name to include "residence" on websites such as booking and expedia, but the issue of expectation management still persists. We believe that our guests are very intelligent people, and would love to hear what ideas they have that we can utilize!

We apologize for the fact you weren't happy with our customer service. It is clear through other reviews you are not alone in this. Though we've had some glowing reviews about our staff, we will be looking over our policies to see what we can do to make sure there are less issues in the future.

We hope some guests found your review useful.

Residence & Conference Centre-Ottawa West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Recognizing that is is a student residence you wouldn't expect anything fancy, and it isn't. While there is a kitchenette, it is equipped with only a fridge and a microwave oven. If you want to make toast, you're out of luck. If you want to make coffee or tea, heat the water in the microwave. There is a communal kitchen on each floor of the building. It consists of a counter top, a sink, and an electric range. It was 150 steps from our door. In our room there were no hangers to hangup our clothes. The drain plug in the bathroom sink did not stay down so it was impossible to run a sink full of water.
On the plus side, the price was reasonable for Ottawa this summer. The rooms are very well sound insulated, so there are no sounds from other suites or from outside the building. Even between the rooms in the same suite almost no sounds can be heard. Each bedroom is equipped with 8 electrical outlets so keeping electronics charged is not a challenge.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesrh542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCOttawa, Customer Relations at Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Hello jamesrh542,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the feedback.

You're right, we are a student residence. We hope this was communicated to you in a clear and concise way before you arrived at your location. If this isn't the case, feel free to reach out to us, we'd like to know what ways we may better communicate this.

We only have one set of stoves on each floor as a matter of safety. We are a student residence for three quarters of the year, and having a stove available in every room presents concerns and potential issues. On our website, we advertise the fact that we have shared kitchens on each floors. We apologize if this wasn't enough to communicate this to you.

We're pleased you were happy with the prices we offer. We have some of the most competitive rates and some of the best value-for-dollar in all of Ottawa.

We're also happy you enjoyed the privacy and quiet our rooms provide.

We hope you'll book with us again,

Residence & Conference Centre-Ottawa West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Not a whole lot of frills, but certainly was perfect for the overnight stay, really close to the ball park, and comfortable enough for me to book here again! The front desk staff were exceptionally accommodating & friendly, and the rooms were spotless. Well worth the dough for the experience that I had.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drewb625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCCOttawa, Customer Relations at Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Hello drewb625,

Thank you for writing a review! We appreciate it whenever someone takes the time to review us.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree that we're a no frills establishment, but with that in mind, we still offer some of the most competitive rates and value for dollar in all of Ottawa.

We're glad you were satisfied with our customer service, as it is an important part of our training.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Residence & Conference Centre-Ottawa West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews