We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vietnamese in Ottawa's Chinatown”

Saigon Boy Noodle House
Ranked #338 of 2,737 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vietnamese in Ottawa's Chinatown”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although small, we only had to wait for 5 minutes for our seat. The service was quick and the food was excellent. Saigon Boy was definitely one of the Best Vietnamese restaurants we have been too. My husband loves pho and he was extremely satisfied. I had the Vegetarian Vermicelli which was large and delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice Pho noodles and fried banana/ice cream dessert”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

They are located in China town in Ottawa. Small place that probably seats around 25 people. Food was excellent and the prices were very reasonable. The beef and brisket pho with rice noodle was excellent. will go there again. if you like Vietnamese food and you are in Ottawa, make sure you go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best pho in Ottawa”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our favourite for Vietnamese in the city. We especially love the pho. High quality ingredients. Won't go anywhere else now...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Our new "go to" place for Pho.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Highly recommend. Two of us ate here for lunch- one having classic Pho, the other, chicken rice vermicelli. Oolong tea as the standard tea - not the dirty dish water so often served elsewhere. Our first time here.

Our appetizer - summer rolls/rice paper rolls/krystal rolls - delicious. NIce coriander leaves, fresh lettuce, perfectly cooked shrimp - and made to order, not pre-made and kept in the fridge as is too often the case on restaurants on Somerset, Peanut sauce had a nice crusted, crumbled peanuts on top - not just crumbled but somehow....crunchy.

Mains - beef pho was delicious. A small bowl was more than adequate and I'm a big guy. Served with the requisite thai basil and bean sprouts. WITH an added garnish of one of those little blazing hot red chilis - chomp them bit by bit, don't be a hero.

This is what separates this place from others. Tiny touches that show a concern for food preparation and a respect for customers.

The server was not only polite but helpful and friendly - and not cloyingly so. We talked about the chile when I asked about its strength. He told me how some people chomp into it (presumably out of bravado) and then make a run for the loo. I liked the heat. After you eat one, then you sip the pho, the tiny bursts of heat and flavour in your mouth - wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IaOrana_Maruuruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty pho, friendly service and reasonable price!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went last weekend to try out the restaurant. We ordered spring rolls, a medium size pho, which comes in a huge bowl for a "medium," and the grilled chicken rice specialty. Overall, I am very pleased with the quality of the food. And I think we paid something like $40 with tips for our order. Our server was really sweet and nice and the ambience is quiet and relaxed. I'd recommend this place if you like a good bowl of pho.

The only item that doesn't match with the price is the spring rolls, which we paid $5 for three.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Boy Noodle House also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Boy Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing