We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Very comfortable. Downtown yet far enough South to avoid the cores craziness.

I really liked the layout and had the place to myself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mia_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Very basic basement room with stark furnishing -nice people but defintely overpriced for what is offered

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank namescreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Ferrara, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Quite neighbourhood, only few minutes bus from downtown. Fantastic breakfast with fresh baked scones and very nice and friendly hosts. What could we ask for more?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolaruns1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Don't stay here if you're concerned about odours, or mould. My wife and one of our friends who were vacationing with us had severe reactions to unhealthy elements in our quarters. The "Pacific Room", which is in the basement, was especially bad with damp odours and an unfinished bathroom. I asked for a refund twice and was refused twice. My advice to you is to steer clear of this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank woodguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwright197, Lawyer for property at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
This property is air conditioned and a relative humidity of 40% is maintained. The air quality is controlled by central air conditioning, electrostatic-hepa filter and humidifier in winter.

The lower level room "Pacific room" and the others have been thoroughly inspected for mold. A very strict cleaning regime is conducted daily to ensure the very best quality of environment.

There are no pets in the building. Smoking is not allowed on the property. The property is a certified scent free facility including the laundry.

A very strict cancellation policy is in force however as they are a very sought after property. Last minute cancellations are damaging to the financial viability of this fine property.

Unorganized guests who try to circumvent their responsibilities for payment do resort to this form of libelous behavior unfortunately.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

My dad made an unexpected visit from overseas. My house was undergoing renovations at the time and I couldn't ask him to sleep on the floor! I was so lucky to find Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast. And then I was even more surprised to realize that I knew the owner. Our children had gone to the same school. That made me feel even more comfortable putting my father up there.
The B &B was surprisingly spacious and inviting . I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scribbles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at Sunnyside B&B in Ottawa on December 21st and 22nd, 2009. I can recommend this place without hesitation. I'm much obliged to Jim & Inge for my pleasant stay at Sunnyside. The food was great, the coffee was superb! Sunnyside is cosy, spotlessly clean, and hospitable because Jim & Inge keep it that way. If you have anything to do with Carleton University, you absolutely could not be in a better location. You can walk from Sunnyside to Carleton in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savittre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
4.1 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Give Me a Break Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa
1.4 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 197 Hopewell Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2Z4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast. Includes a healthy breakfast. Up to date services (Internet, Business service, etc.). Clean. Quiet. Free parking. A 2.5 star rated facility. Three rooms (Atlantic, Pacific & Great Lakes) with queen beds and en-suite bathroom. Three budget private rooms (UW, UF & US) sharing a bathroom in our Annex. Suited best for single and couples. A smoke free property. No pets. Low scent and environment management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing