We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am surprised a fire marshal hasn't condemned the place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I am surprised a fire marshal hasn't condemned the place.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Sunnyside building was old and decrepit (the outside exterior siding is all "window dressing". I am surprised a fire marshal hasn't condemned the place with just one exit and one 2.5 kg dry chemical fire extinguisher. The narrow stairs to the 2nd floor were steep and nigh on impossible to navigate with a carry-on bag. 3 rooms upstairs with a shared common area (table, 4 chairs, bar fridge, assortment of dishes, iron and ironing board brought over upon request). Twin bed in rooms, no mirror in one room, only an inside lock on one of the doors. Paper-thin walls, weak floorboards (saggy), creaky floors and ill-fitting doors with sketchy latches. Holes in the 1950s linoleum, many nail holes, and dirty paint. The bathroom was narrow, cast iron tub with retrofitted shower head and curtain install (good water pressure though), but no fan or window that opened. 1 washcloth the duration of stay. Noisy road traffic, but close to Carleton's campus. Certainly not worth $78 per night.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side, the inside room is quieter, but warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    6
    7
See reviews for
5
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just minutes from the canal and a healthy breakfast are the positives to this location. Otherwise the rooms were outdated and there was no such thing as sleeping in, especially staying in the Atlantic room if others were having breakfast or utilizing the shared phone. Hostel style location but hotel prices!
Would not recommend, sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessicac9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Wiarton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

On the plus side:
-good location, reasonably priced
-fridge, microwave and dishes/cutlery in common area allowed us to each all dinners in so we saved $$$
-coffee was excellent
-hosts prepared us a box breakfast so we could get an early start on departing and miss the heavy AM traffic
-bed was comfortable, only because we brought our own pillows (those provided were very poor excuses for pillows)

However
-the building is an older home and the reno's were dated and poorly done, washroom had very poor appearance with dirty caulking, cracked plaster...common area smelled faintly of wet dog
-were not asked our preference for breakfast so first morning the "standard" was provided (muffins, yogurt and fruit), and while tastey did not satisfy...they did provide eggs/bacon next morning when we pointed it out.
-our daughter joined us first AM for B'fast and the price for her muffin, small yogurt container and small bowl of fruit was $20 which is the full, daily "extra guest" rate (we objected but never did get a satisfactory response).
-we were asked to pay in full, up front, barely in the door and not having seen the state of affairs...I was even asked to sign a blank credit card form but refused
-temp control very poor, the heater in the bedroom (Atlantic Room) had such a wide control band we were either chilly or very hot.
-other guests arrived at 01:30 first night, being an older home sound travelled and woke us with a start as doors opened, conversations took place (we did get an apology when we complained in the morning)

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is at least upstairs, the Pacific is in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2hosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you simply don't care about the quality of your accommodations and pest-free meets your standards for 'comfort', then this is the place for you.

The owner tends to be a chatterbox, yet is slow at returning calls or responding to requests. We asked for new towels, and he basically said "we do the air dry thing here...." -- new towels (2) were provided only once per week. Even though we were in town 2 weeks before briefly, the owner refused to let us see the rooms (claiming to be occupied, but in fact were free).

The owners simply don't invest any effort or time into their business. The rooms on the Sunnyside avenue part of the property could possibly be condemned within a few years. You're best to avoid those rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeteInOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

after a 3hr delay at Chicago to get to Ottawa, I finally arrived at 1am at the B&B. Jim monitored the flight and was so kind to check me in at 1am. The breakfast is wonderful (delicious muffins, thanks Inge!) and a great start to a long day of business meetings! If you're active, the Rideau Canal is just a few minutes away and you can head to downtown following the walking/jogging/cycling trail. And a few blocks from the B&B is a street lined with restaurants, cafes, pubs, etc. I certainly felt I was on a mini-vacation while staying here and Jim and Inge were helpful in showing me the sights to see in Ottawa, the parks, the running trails, etc. THANKS for a wonderful stay! I hope to see you both again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charayuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

For the price, you can't get any better for business around Carleton university. The owners seem very considerate and honest, and are doing their best to accomodate guests in their own home. The rooms are clean, well equipped with wifi, TV (in the atlantic atleast), and all the required linens. People who are not reviewing the stay well are simply not doing their research on what they are getting in this B&B. The personal website of Sunnyside provides the required information and you can call them with any questions (also, reservations are much cheaper through them than any third party websites). I haven't noticed any hygiene or mold issues as others have complained about, and the breakfast is very healthy/tasty.

Unlike hotels, consideration on part of both the owners and the guests will maximize the enjoyability of your stay. It's their house afterall, and as a landlord I can appreciate what it's like to have to deal with unappreciative or disrespectful tenants. They are not getting rich off the prices they charge (Expedia adds a ridiculous amount of overhead to the costs if you book with them, so that money isn't seen by the B&B), so understand that cancellations are a much larger loss than with hotels.

I stayed with my girlfriend for a weekend and as reasonable, appreciative young adults we loved this accomodation. I'd come back just for the fresh made muffins every morning!

Room Tip: Read their website and call them to ask for specifics concerning the rooms so you don't get surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sunnyside near the end of July. Since we were there for a wedding we needed time to get ready and the hosts were more than accommodating in letting us check in extra early into both of our rooms. The place was tidy and clean and was exactly what we needed for a relaxing couple days in town. The food was delicious (and home made, i might add) and was even served at a time we had requested. The hosts gave us maps and even allowed use of a computer to plan out our daytime excursion into the city. They were kind, friendly, and made absolutely sure that we had everything we needed to be comfortable in our rooms. The rooms themselves (mine was Pacific, her's was Atlantic) were spacious and well kept. The beds were clean and very very comfortable, which was a welcome luxury after a busy day. The rooms were very well priced compared to getting a hotel room. We will definitely be staying here should we come back to Ottawa, so we'll be sure to book ahead and make sure we can get the rooms!

Room Tip: Pacific room is slightly larger than Atlantic, but they are both spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa
1.4 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa
2.9 mi away
Give Me a Break Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 197 Hopewell Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2Z4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast. Includes a healthy breakfast. Up to date services (Internet, Business service, etc.). Clean. Quiet. Free parking. A 2.5 star rated facility. Three rooms (Atlantic, Pacific & Great Lakes) with queen beds and en-suite bathroom. Three budget private rooms (UW, UF & US) sharing a bathroom in our Annex. Suited best for single and couples. A smoke free property. No pets. Low scent and environment management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing