We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old Venue still packs em in -”

National Arts Centre
Ranked #25 of 266 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The old Venue still packs em in -”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is still the ol stalwart of big name acts that dont play stadiums. We took grandma to go see Englebert & it was a great venue. A month later we saw Jersey Boys there - also a good night out --

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    88
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great sound, excellent facilities”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the premiere Ottawa location for great sounds and events. There is always something on, so check out their schedule to see what is happening when you are in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Backstage tour very interesting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Went on a field trip with my daughters class and had a backstage tour. Interesting to see behind the scenes. I did not realize how many stages there were here or how big this place was. I have only been to see shows on the main stage (can't remember what it is called). We also saw the carpentry shop, got to walk on the main stage, see the "green" and dressing rooms and the prop room.

This place was new when I was a child but it is really starting to show it's age (I am too :)) We are fortunate to have a venue in town that can accommodate such a variety of shows and performers from ballet to rock concerts and comedians.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewartsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Visit for a show”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Come and watch some world class acts. Here you can also have great Canadian Orchestra and top bill shows. Reasonably priced, you can see shows that'll be twice the price in major Capitals

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaaKwesiOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Great Venue, Won't Disappoint”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

You can't go wrong with an evening at the NAC. Great accoustics, professional staff & comfortable seating. Spend the extra money for good seats, you won't be disappointed (box seats are always great especially if you've got a group of 4 or more).

If you'd like add to your evening, venture to Le Cafe for dinner or bevies prior to the show. The dinner menu is limited but has improved in recent months and offers quality dishes. Great wine & cocktail selection and staff are dedicated to ensuring an enjoyable meal while getting you to your show on time without feeling rushed. If you park in the underground lot, while busy, exiting is generally painless but if you'd like to avoid the rush, visit one of the nearby restaurants for an apres show drink & let the crowd disperse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lux101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Arts Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing