We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is huge”

University of Ottawa
Ranked #79 of 266 things to do in Ottawa
Attraction details
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This place is huge”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

There are over 40,000 students.It has the largest law school in Canada as well as the largest french imersion program.It was built in 1848 and has a 97 per cent of employment for graduates which is really important. I found the staff very helpful and met a lot of friendly people the day i went for a tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    15
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Where else do you want to study in French or English or both”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A downtown university, many building, better know how to run to get to your next class. It's an old institution with a new twist. Stay in resident in the summer while you are visiting in Ottawa, or study at the university and stay in resident.
You want to study this is the place to be, right downtown so easy to get too from anywhere in the Ottawa / Gatineau area. Beware of the parking regulations.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank axxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“DOWNTOWN UNIVERSITY”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

No real campus except the small park in front of the historic main building on Laurier. No really spectacular buildings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“horrible experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good academic system and some good profs. however, students are treated as $$ only. there's no value for the student there. I took 10 courses at Athabasca they only accepted two of them (basically I waisted my money). the courses scheduling is extremely bad and there are no spots available if you do not register earlier. I can't wait to get my degree and never see this university ever in my life. Worst experience ever!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NiveenOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice grounds”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I often walk through the grounds of Ottawa U when we head to the market area. Very nice grounds, some old, some new. Not a place to hang out, but worth a look.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Ottawa also viewed

 

Been to University of Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing