We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff/mediocre food”

Pookies Thai Restaurant
Ranked #196 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff/mediocre food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We had one of the guests in our party have a medical emergency (nothing to do with the restaurant or food) that required an ambulance and medical intervention.
The staff could not have been more nice, helpfull and understanding. I am sorry that the food was not very good

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostesses”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went first time on a Sunday suppertime. Only one other table had a party of 5. I liked the quiet. The two hostesses were charming and service was perfect. We tried the shrimp rolls the prawn toast and the pork handtied rolls. All were good but the toast was awesome.. Not at all greasy as you may expect. Then we tried the green curry and a pad with chicken. Each was good the curry was heaped with fresh veggies and the sauce flavorful. The pad was spicy which my spouse loves.yes we are every bit of it! Feeling very full we were happy with the experience. The only negative is that the prices are quite high. So this will not be a regular eating out spot but maybe twice a year. I would recommend trying it at least once.you get a lovely butterscotch candy with your bill too. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LooDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My friends and I were out for dinner and decided to check out this place from the good reviews we'd seen online however we were all disappointed. The place was empty at 6:30, and we were the only ones there which made us feel a little awkward. The service was fine, and everyone was nice but the food was nothing special. First of all, rice doesn't come with many of the options and is an extra charge which makes everything more pricey. My friend's ordered Pad Thai and thought it was a bit too sweet. I had a curry with beef, and the beef had a very strange texture which was slightly off putting but the curry itself was delicious but not very spicy. It's also in a difficult location depending where you're coming from, we had to zig through a side street to get here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have eaten there several times. Very relaxing atmosphere, good service, nice food. It is very clean with lovely decoration and impressive attention to detail.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrsHnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

It has been a while since I've been however the food was very good, a little on the pricy side to be a regular thing. Pookie is an excellent host and very attentive. Highly recommend .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bumpyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pookies Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Pookies Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing