We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy lunch treat”
Review of Caribbean Sizzler

Caribbean Sizzler
Ranked #1,527 of 2,773 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Jamaican
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spicy lunch treat”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Every time I've treated myself to lunch at this cozy little hideaway downtown, it's been a pleasure. I always go for the roti, which is tasty and filling. They have Caribbean soft drinks too. I find it a touch expensive for regular lunches, but it makes a delightful alternative to the usual food-court fare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good SPICY food”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I had no idea caribbean food was so spicy! We had the jerk chicken: it was very tasty but very very spicy. The goat curry was delicious and a little bit less spicy. I loved the rice. Good quality food for a good price. Next time I will ask if they have something less spicy though. :) but if you like spicy food, you will love this place. It is indeed full of flavour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Jerk Chicken”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

First time visiting this restaurant. Nice and cozy little restaurant. Relaxing atmosphere. The food is a delight. The Jerk chicken is great. Big plate, good rice and to top it off, excellent service. I would definetely go back. Great dinning on a budget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good curry”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

-I stopped in here after a chanting meeting. I suppose that eating well does not meet that I am selfish. I would go back there again and again. The washroom is very clean and I was served by a tall polite man. Very affordable too. A large photo of Jamaica travel at the front.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I first tried this place a couple of years ago during a business trip to Ottawa, and was so impressed that I resolved to come back. This time, I was back in Ottawa but not at all happy about it. It was the tail-end of a snowstorm, I had a rotten cold and eating was more of a chore than anything else. Wandering around in the slop & slush, I found myself back, craving something tasty, or at least something I could taste. The Curry Goat did not disappoint. This is certainly not a fine dining establishment, but the dining is fine. You can tell that the food is carefully prepared and they take pride in it. Thanks for saving my tastebuds - I'll definitely be back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ArtfulDodger38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Sizzler also viewed

 

Been to Caribbean Sizzler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing