We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff; surprisingly little aircraft noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff; surprisingly little aircraft noise”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here in late May for the Ottawa Tulip Festival.
Airport is a short drive away, but couldn't hear any planes during our stay.

Staff were extremely friendly at the breakfasts, in the hallways, etc.

Short drive (10-15mins) to downtown to the major attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebrownsnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    122
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
103
52
47
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, BC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a very well maintained hotel. They have high speed internet, a free breakfast and very good rates and a great staff and its only a ten minute drive to Carleton University. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Good property and consistent with the Holiday Inn Express branding. Friendly staff living up to their national reputation. Convenient shuttle service. My IHG Rewards Club status was acknowledged and complimentary room upgrade came through. Had no complaints whatsoever; definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a stress-free layover in Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Organized a 4-day training in one of the conference rooms in the hotel. Stayed in the hotel due to convenience sake.

I was given a complimentary ride by the staff to the hotel. My packages which included the laptops and training material arrived a week before I arrived, and they were well stored and taken care of. The conference room was well setup prior to the training, along with the meal caterings (coffee breaks and lunch). Complimentary breakfast was regular.

Things to improve on: gym facility

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked a night stay at the hotel to accommodate our early morning flight. We received the room we booked with the ONA discount which was fantastic!

The room was clean, the building was quiet and the service was great. We had no issues nor requests but during check in the clerk was accommodating and asked is he could help us in any way.

Breakfast was fine, all of us were able to find something substantial to eat and start the day with.

We did not seek out any of the hotel services as this was a quick in and out stay.

We did have a code for the WiFi but were unable to get on to many websites to check weather reports, flight times etc. We switched back to our cell provider and had no further issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I travel quite often, in and out of hotels and for once I can say I had no complaints. I felt right at home. The service was professional, the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and minutes away from the airport which is fantastic. I'll for sure be back. Good job guys!! D.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5n1p3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I am a Hilton Diamond member, though I also have loyalty cards with all the major chains, this one included. It is normally my second choice. This property was closer than the Hilton to the location I am working at, and looked pretty decent. Booked well in advance. Arrived around 8 pm and was told that the people in the room they'd earmarked for me had extended their stay so I was being "relocated" to the Marriot.
Really???
When I asked why no one had bothered to call me to tell me, the reply was, "um, I don't know."
The Marriott was not closer to where I am working, and it wasn't that easy to find either for someone not familiar with the area. I would have preferred to be notified in advance so I could have tried to get into the Hilton.
This morning I get my check out slip under the door at the Marriot. The Holiday Inn had only booked me for one night. I called over to HI and they said, "no we don't have you booked here for tonight." Thankfully the Marriot accomodated me and offered the same price point, otherwise I would have had to check out and find somewhere else to stay on short notice.
Absolutely terrible customer service from HIE!!!
I work for a large corporation. I stay in Ottawa about 24 nights a year, and usually travel with a team of 4 people. I will not stay at this hotel and will cite this experience as the reason. And since I'm the team lead, you can expect I will diverted about 80 nights of business from your hotel. I will also tell all the other staff in my district about my poor experience.
How's that for the price of a phone call and the 5 minutes it would have taken someone to make it?

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, or call advance to make sure they didn't give your room away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gasndeiseldontmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear gasndeiseldontmix,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ottawa.
Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Address: 2881 Gibford Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 2L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Airport Hotel Offers a Free Airport Shuttle From 5 AM-11 PM Located right outside Ottawa near Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Airport is a great place to begin your Canadian vacation. With close proximity to Ottawa s biggest leisure and business attractions, you will find a comfortable stay at an affordable price. For the business traveler, our Ottawa hotel is just a few kilometers away from Centurion Conference and Event Center. You can also get to the heart of downtown Ottawa quickly and easily, as it is just twelve kilometers from our airport hotel. Ottawa s information technology industry is right at your fingertips with businesses such as Black Coral and Apple Canada within ten kilometers of our hotel near Ottawa International. Ottawa s many tourist attractions are all located within a short distance of our hotel near Ottawa airport. Parliament Hill is just 12 kilometers away, in the heart of downtown Ottawa. A little further away from our Ottawa airport hotel is Mont Cascades. This mountain offers skiing in the winter and hiking trails in the summer. During your stay at our hotel near Ottawa International, you can take advantage of the indoor heated pool & whirlpool spa and the free Internet access. Come Stay Smart with us at the new Ottawa airport hotel and see what Ottawa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ottawa Airport
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing