We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch ”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveller putting on over 100K miles per year, this hotel tops some of the best I've stayed. Dave and Greg (front desk and shuttle driver) know what customer service means! The rooms are immaculate, updated and well appointed. While I could go on and on about the accommodations, even the nicest hotels can go downhill with bad service.

This hotel is top notch and has made me rethink the brand Holiday Inn Express!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Juliana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    128
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
113
56
48
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this location in mid February 2014 after moving from another accommodation on the east end of the city. It's a newer facility, it's very clean and the staff are friendly. The rooms are laid out well and the beds are super comfy. The hotel still has that "NEW CAR SMELL"!! You pretty much know you are going to enjoy your stay as soon as you walk through the doors. It would be a bit of a walk to restaurants and shopping, having a vehicle would make your stay a little more convenient. They offer a free shuttle service to travelers going to and from the Ottawa Airport and it takes about 6 minutes to make the trip.

The Park & Fly parking lot is directly behind the hotel. My only complaint about this accommodation was the noise of back-up beeper on the equipment clearing snow at the Park & Fly. It didn't annoy me to the point where I couldn't sleep well, but it was definitely noticeable. Obviously this would only be a problem during the winter, but if you think the back-up beeper noise will be an issue for you, request a room on the street side. If you plan on traveling to Ottawa, this is an excellent Airport accommodation and you will be 100% satisfied when checking out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommanderRyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terry
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed for one night in March 2014 as I had an overnight wait between flights. It's in a great location, just 5 minutes from Ottawa Airport. The Hotel runs a courtesy shuttle as well to get you to and from your flights.

For some reason I was upgraded to teh Presedential suite which is enourmous with a break out lounge and a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom along with an en-suite.

The wifi is free and good quality and there is a good pub next door to grab a bite to eat and a pint.

Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrytTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This very efficient hotel caters almost exclusively to business travelers and those who need an airport hotel (in 3 visits, I've yet to see a child there). The property is new and very well maintained and clean.

The staff offer some of the best service I've had at a hotel. For instance, when their Business Centre computers were down, they let me use one of their hotel computers to take care of an important matter.

The room was very neat, clean, and quiet (I didn't hear any airplane noise during my stay). The bed was new and extremely comfortable. The room had a new stylish microwave and fridge in addition to the usual HDTV.

Bathroom was clean and the housekeeping was impeccable (even the stairways were pristine).

The breakfast room is one of the stars of this hotel. It's large with a high ceiling and (as I mentioned before) no kids. A large selection of hot and cold items are available.

Several (mostly chain) restaurants are a 3 - 5 minute drive away. The hotel will also shuttle you to nearby restaurants at no charge.

This isn't the hotel for a vacation or a romantic getaway, but if you have a car and are doing business, the significantly lower rates (compared to downtown hotels) and free parking might make this the right choice for the business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyNow-Hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was on business and stayed two weeks at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa Airport. I enjoyed the customer service and location. The rooms were clean and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was always good with lots of selection. The shuttle service from the airport was prompt and the driver very friendly. He explained where I could find different stores and restaurants along the way. Not having a restaurant in the hotel for meals other than breakfast was a bit of an inconvenience but there were options within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Shuttle does fulfill needs from airport (only available until 11pm, not convenient if your flight comes in after that)
Awful check in experience, no smile from agent, felt very "cold"
Our room was dirty when we checked in, (dirty kleenex under covers in bed and the floor had not been vacuumed) was offered a different room, with no help from the agent to help us move (bringing up luggage cart etc..) no empathy and apology from the night audit staff who we had to deal with.
Positive note: The beds were comfortable (when we were put into a clean room) and breakfast was delicious.
The agent that checked us out was much more pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Leanne C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was very tired when I arrived to this hotel after 2 long days of travel. The young man who checked me in, Dave, went the extra mile for me.....I needed to return the rental car to the airport location. It was snowing and I needed to get the car back to save another day of charges. I mentioned to Dave when I checked in that I needed to return the car before 7pm to avoid another day's charges and then I asked him what phone number I should call to ask them to pick me up at the airport with their shuttle. Dave asked me if I knew where I was going and I said no (plus it was dark, snowy and icy) and he said well you can follow me right to Hertz and I will wait for you to ! I would have never been able to find the back way to the Return Rental Car in time! It was the extra mile for a tired traveler! My room was extremely clean and my pillows heavenly:) Thanks again Dave!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn125_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa West - Nepean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
Address: 2881 Gibford Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 2L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Airport Hotel Offers a Free Airport Shuttle From 5 AM-11 PM Located right outside Ottawa near Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Airport is a great place to begin your Canadian vacation. With close proximity to Ottawa s biggest leisure and business attractions, you will find a comfortable stay at an affordable price. For the business traveler, our Ottawa hotel is just a few kilometers away from Centurion Conference and Event Center. You can also get to the heart of downtown Ottawa quickly and easily, as it is just twelve kilometers from our airport hotel. Ottawa s information technology industry is right at your fingertips with businesses such as Black Coral and Apple Canada within ten kilometers of our hotel near Ottawa International. Ottawa s many tourist attractions are all located within a short distance of our hotel near Ottawa airport. Parliament Hill is just 12 kilometers away, in the heart of downtown Ottawa. A little further away from our Ottawa airport hotel is Mont Cascades. This mountain offers skiing in the winter and hiking trails in the summer. During your stay at our hotel near Ottawa International, you can take advantage of the indoor heated pool & whirlpool spa and the free Internet access. Come Stay Smart with us at the new Ottawa airport hotel and see what Ottawa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ottawa Airport
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing