We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Murray Street - CLOSED

Murray Street
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $99
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love this place. One of our favourites in Ottawa. Amazing use of fresh local ingredients in a great setting which we would describe as "rustic elegance". The inside is great and the patio is fantastic (a nice gem in Ottawa's Byward Market area)! If you are afraid of some of the dishes because of the cuts and/or names....DON'T be. The ability to create extraordinary and memorable flavours with something other than filet mignon or rib eye brings this restaurant to another level. Although the menu caters to meat lovers, the Chef also prepares extraordinary vegetarian dishes (my wife is a vegetarian and she loves the place). We've eaten lunch, brunch and dinner at Murray Street and have loved them all. Chef Mitton deserves recognition for raising the bar of the restaurant scene in Ottawa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Two_Traveling_Pugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    113
    39
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice ambiance/patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I come to Murray regularly for business lunches. Their lunches are always delicious home food that leave you licking your fingers. The patio is beautiful and the service is good.

It is definitely an Ottawa fool-proof staple. If anyone asks for a restaurant to go to, I usually recommend this one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
262 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Patio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a small plate restaurant with excellent food. Their version of Poutine is out-of-this world! Everything we shared at Murray Street was first-rate. The service was great. The best part is that the patio is beautiful, lush and inviting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
994 reviews
480 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Great location and atmosphere - food a little lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four of us went for dinner. We all had starters and main courses, but did not have the charcuterie board. The P, B & J (salad) was excellent. Both the duck and the pork were very oily. The service was patchy and the food was overpriced for what we got. We did not think it lived up to the on-line reviews. Doubt that we will be going again on our next visit to Ottawa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
209 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Was expecting more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Highly recommended but sadly very disappointing. Group of 8 visited mid week in early May. Majority felt food was subpar, overly salty and just too fatty. I know it is a pork and meat place but having just had similar food the night before, this place is over rated. One member had a vegetarian meal - it was so awful all tasted to see what she was complaining about. It was awful. Deep fried risotto balls? Charcuterie board was good, but the mains really disappointed. Did not attempt dessert after our main meal experience. Service good and enthusastic but did not compensate for poor food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murray Street also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing