We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Yummy!”

Beaver Tails Pastries
Ranked #1 of 62 Dessert in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Description: Freshly prepared to order, hand stretched pastries served with your choice of sweet or savory toppings. Hot and Cold Beverages available
Red Deer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

These are such a simple thing but they are so good. We were told Beavertails were a must have when we went to Ottawa and we weren't told what they were so we were quite skeptical. Such a pleasant surprise. The kids had the maple butter topping and the hubby and I tried the cinnamon and sugar with the lemon. So yummy! Too bad they didn't sell them in the airport, we could have brought some home to share.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rizfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    974
    396
    101
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A must try for any first timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My favourite is the cinnamon and sugar. Everyone should try this if visiting Canada. Canadians visiting areas that offer Beavertails should also indulge.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nothing like eating beaver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Deep fried pastry topped how you like it (with apples and cinnamon, chocolate hazelnut and the list goes on and on). A very tasty treat you must try .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EtobicokeKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was freezing standing in line at 10pm on a Saturday night, but worth every second. Deep fried dough with any of a number of toppings - you cannot go wrong. Didn't even make it back across the street to our hotel with them. Once you try them, you'll know why you see the wrappers they are served in every time you stop to toss something out while walking down the street. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hotelie06897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

It's nothing special, justdeep fried pastry dipped in sugar with cinnamon and lemon; but to me it's heaven. Standing on the canal freezing your tush trying to eat your tail in one hand and cider in the other brings back memories if being a kid. The price has been steadily climbing and it seems a tad out if proportion with inflation. But once a year I'll make the investment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia_F_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Tails Pastries also viewed

 

Been to Beaver Tails Pastries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing