We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Pho Thu Do

Pho Thu Do
Ranked #542 of 2,744 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived late in the evening when it appeared they were preparing to close. When we asked if it was too late they treated us as though they'd been waiting for us all night. Wonderful people and very good interesting food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchSonora_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Still very good; best broth”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

There are tons of Vietnamese pho joints around town, and on this strip of Somerset in particular. In its old location, just a few doors away from where it is now, this was one of the original, older ones. Now that it has moved, it is cleaned up and a bit more up market, but still has super pho. In our opinion, the taste of the broth is the best in Ottawa, even though some places give a bit more meat.

Prices seem to have gone up a bit with the move, but still among the better value pho restaurants. One warning: seems to have less variety of non-pho dishes than its peers, so it's a great place to go if no-fuss, tasy pho is what you all crave, but might be less good if some of your group want to branch out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good Vietnemese Food”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ate here while vacationing in Ottawa and found both the food and the service to be excellent. Our order was brought out very fast and the Pho was very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jiffypop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good place for pho in the south end of Ottawa”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Don't know if Pho Thu Do on Riverside Drive (at Hunt Club) is the same as the one on Somerset, but this review is for the location on Riverside Drive. After reading various reviews about Pho Thu Do on Riverside, we were not sure what to expect but in the end, we had a very good experience here. The service was very good and the dining room itself was very modern and clean. Appetizers arrived hot and crispy, though side plates would have been welcome as we shared these around the table. Pho arrived in attractive large white bowls, steaming hot. The broth was very fragrant (enjoyed wafts of star anise, cloves and cinnamon) and delicious. Our favourite was the rare beef, well done beef and beef brisket combo in the pho. Chicken & shrimp udon was also enjoyed. We normally eat pho in various establishments along Somerset, but now know that we can get really good pho in the south end.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing pho! Very cheap!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

There are lots of pho places to choose from in this area of Ottawa. I have to say, this is the best one I've been to so far. For less then $10 per person you can get so much delicious soup. Ever since we ate there I've been craving it! Any of the choices are great. I also recommend the deep friend spring rolls. Yum!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abe416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Thu Do also viewed

 

Been to Pho Thu Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing