We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good sushi for Ottawa”
Review of MHK Sushi

MHK Sushi
Ranked #738 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Westboro Village
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Pretty good sushi for Ottawa”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Got takeout for the first time from MHK, and it's not bad. The sushi was relatively fresh (although definitely not high-end fresh), and the dynamite rolls were tasty. Going to have to go back a few times to know their variety. Still looking for outstanding sushi in Ottawa, which isn't MHK unfortunately...

Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyMan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We ordered take-out from this restaurant for lunch - including a sushi platter for 2, soups, and a few other rolls.

The meal was prepared quickly, the fish tasted fresh, and the rolls were put together well. The soup had mushroom slices in it which we thought was a nice touch.

Our only complaint is that the chop-sticks had a "smokey" smell to them! It took us a while to figure out what was smelling smoked - very strange. We're not sure if this was intentional or not but we didn't enjoy that.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitsoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

When I first started going to MHK the sushi was spectacular! They had some great rolls, especially the volcano roll. However, when their main sushi chef left a couple years ago the quality started going downhill. I even found a piece of saran in my sushi. Also, one of the servers was really pleasant and friendly while the other wasn't so it became a hit or miss kind of place. I don't go here anymore.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tally_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best japanese restaurant in Ottawa”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Don't be deceived by it's location and façade. Once inside, the restaurant is very nice, and the food is delicious. Very fresh and tasty. The sushis are very delicate, much different from the huge ones we usually get at these all-you-can-eat sushi restaurants. We've been there several times. Service, though, could be better. On our last visit they charged us extra for a few cucumber rolls we ordered for the kids. Seriously, cucumber rolls are much simpler to prepare than any of the other fancy sushis available on the menu. But I still recommend it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaInCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable atmosphere - great food”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We went to this restaurant without having any prior knowledge of it, and we were pleased with our choice. There were three of us for lunch, we were only occasional sushi-eaters. The waiter was very helpful in explaining the menu choices. In the end, we all ordered the $11.99 combo, and we all shared in 3 different appetizers, and 6 main course selections. Miso soup started the meal (which I love, and this was very good.) We had three appetizers, two of which we particularly liked, the spiced mango (can't recall menu name) and the wakame seaweed salad . The edamame beans we could have given a miss (they were good, but a bit bland when compared to the other two appetizers). The 6 main course selections were all excellent; it was difficult to pick a favourite, but the spicy salmon sushi deserves a special mention.
Bottom line: everything, food, atmosphere, service, is excellent. No minuses in our experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank LuckyBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MHK Sushi also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to MHK Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing