We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Rainbow Restaurant

Rainbow Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 373 Restaurants in Oshawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown Oshawa
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Have been going to this place for several years since being told about it by our son . Like a trip back to the Fifties . Peameal breakfast is great if you can eat 8 ounces of peameal (3 slices) , 3 eggs , homefries and toast at a sitting . The waitresses are great and look after all your needs with a smile .You are greeted by the cook staff on entering and thanked when you leave .
If you go in around lunch time you could run into Chris , the original owner . He is quite a raconteur , and can give you a history of his life and the restaurant . Servings are enormous for all menu items . YOU GOTTA EAT HERE .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Peameal Bacon - huge slices”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you like Peameal bacon.. you gotta eat here! Food good, wait staff good, only thing was the back room smell.. place needs an overhall and just seemed kinda dirty... was very busy when we went at breakfast on a Saturday morning. But there was a lingering odour (unclean) smell.
Food though was great...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybuggyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Small old diner with great food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I read some reviews on this site and since they were positive and it is in our neighbourhood, we decided to take a chance and go out for breakfast. My husband and I both ordered the 'Combo Breakfast' which comes with 3 eggs, home fries, toast and 2 slices each of bacon, ham and farmers sausage. It was a BIG meal for $7.99 but worth it. The only drawback was the amount of oil that was on the eggs. The cook was far too liberal with the cooking oil that it made a pool on top of our (over medium) eggs. We sopped up the oil, told the server about it and ate them anyway. Overall, considering this place has been around since the 50's and it's really small, we thought it was a great meal and we'll be back. I thought the coffee was great. My husband thought it was just ok. Next time we go, we're supposed to try the peameal bacon...apparently it's great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't let the exterior fool you”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went here for breakfast with my hubby portion sizes are huge and the price is low. The waitress was attentive and gave suggestions without being pushy a makeover might help but why bother the place is always packed. Why fix something that isn't broken

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleCOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast was drenched in grease...”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cheap tasting bacon... The home fries tasted deep fried, greasy and lacking any flavour....The upper area was freezing cold, even though it's just the beginning of September....It's cheap and if you really are not fussy at all, then maybe it's the place for you.
The staff was friendly....but it's not enough to make me want to come back here again....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachyFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing