We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Avanti Trattoria

Avanti Trattoria
Ranked #8 of 381 Restaurants in Oshawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Oshawa
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

After attending a seminar one evening in downtown Oshawa, we happened upon this restaurant within walking distance and stopped in for dinner.

A courteous hello was offered and we were escorted immediately to a nice window-side table. Our server Kate, wasted no time approaching us, welcoming us to the eatery, offering menus and advising us of the daily special.

We settled upon their evening special of New England style clam chowder and a Fettuccini dish with mussels, shrimp, chorizo sausage accented with Puttanesca sauce, baby arugula, roma tomato and romano cheese, all garnished with fresh parmesan cheese.

The chowder arrived very quickly with complimentary breads. It was wonderfully hot (temp) and flavorful. Best of all, it was not gelatin-thick and filled with huge lumps of potato like most restaurants serve, but instead fresh and delicate, each spoonful delicious and appetizing.

Kate, an ever-attentive server, cleared our bowls and soon arrived with the fettuccini. Again, fresh and hot, absolutely delightful food, seasoned just right. Portions were more than ample and we actually took away that which we could not finish.

This was an all-around good dining experience from start to finish. A spur of the moment decision to try this eating establishment turned out well and I'm not hesitant to recommend them.

p.s. I've heard from other sources that the Caesar salad with a skewer of shrimp is excellent. Will give that a try as a lunch outing sometime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    119
    38
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really nice Italian food. The salads and pizza's are excellent! The daily specials are usually exceptional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Autofest evening”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Another couple along with my wife and I had dinner the evening of Autofest in downtown Oshawa on Friday . All 4 meals were different and each were pleased with their fare. From mixed pasta dishes to the pizza we were very satisfied. Great service on each course including drinks. No dessert, we were stuffed. Very, very busy with all the traffic and we were seated immediately without reservations, though some patrons did have them. All in all very good Italian cuisine and the servers did a splendid job.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adorable and romantic”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I have been once for lunch and three times for dinner. Excellent service. My perfect date night. Best cappachino ever. Picked up a pizza once for dinner. Delicious from the stone oven. Hard to bring young children but I would rather enjoy an adult night here anyway. They were very sweet to the kids but its a small space and their little screams disrupt other diners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been to Avanti's many times in the past and have enjoyed, but last night was a different story .My husband and I brought some relatives from out of town to dinner and we were not impressed. We ordered 2 antipasto misto and were not thrilled by the sight of the plates the 2 slices of provolone that were on each plate were so thin you could see through them. For the amount of money I would expect more on the plate. I think they have changed their sauce or maybe got new cooks since I was last there in January but it was not something I would recommend. To sum it up if you are looking for a very average Italian restaurant then go I don't think we will be going back. Relatives were so not impressed>

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Hockeymom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Avanti Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing