We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this restaurant!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 238

Bistro 238
Ranked #12 of 371 Restaurants in Oshawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant!!!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

In my opinion the Bistro is by far the best restaurant in the area. You can taste the quality and freshness of the ingredients. The chef Simon and the servers make every visit enjoyable for us. Between my husband and myself we have tried every item on the menu and have never been disappointed. It's great for a romantic dinner, a night out with another couple and for a large family or work get together. We have noticed a couple of little improvements lately as we'll which is nice, it shows that they are committed to the place and working on keeping current on things.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ112275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    8
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clarington,ontario
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

17 of us went for a girls night out. Our waitress didn't miss a beat. We didn't know it was pasta night....the serving would have fed 2 people. The wine list was awesome. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crwk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very pleasant little place”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a nice place to discover after a session in the dentist's chair. Set back in a nondescript little plaza on King St. east in Courtice, you should be warned that 238 is not the street address - it is the wedding anniversary date of the chef/owner - so say Happy Anniversary if you happen to visit on Aug. 23rd. It has a very pleasant atmosphere with white linen tablecloths. The lunch menu is mostly high-end sandwiches augmented with a pasta or so, and a couple of other mains and some specials of the day. They don't indicate on the menu that there is a soup of the day, you have to wait to see that on the blackboard. Today's was sweet potato and lobster bisque - very nice although my husband grumbled about the cold bowl and lack of bread. He followed with the quiche of the day which came with a good tossed salad, and I had the roast chicken, bacon, tomato and avocado sandwich on a multi grain bread, and chose the Caesar salad. Both of these were excellent, the chicken obviously having been cooked to order as it was still warm. We ended with excellent cappuccinos. Service was with a smile. There is a good selection of wines by the glass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gailr97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland, ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food fair prices!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a great meal last night with friends. I've been there many times and never had a bad meal. Simon is a great chef and the prices are fair for fresh delicious food! The service is pretty good too! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meeker1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I love this place for lunch. A decent menu, lots of sandwich selections that come with salad, yummy specials and amazing deserts. A real treat and a great price. Amazing atmosphere! I suggest trying them out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 238 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 238? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing