We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, reasonably priced but ho hum setting and service”
Review of Bistro 238

Bistro 238
Ranked #13 of 378 Restaurants in Oshawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Horseshoe Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delicious food, reasonably priced but ho hum setting and service”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tucked away at the back of a strip plaza, Bistro 238 offers terrifc food but needs some attention to decor and service. The window tables overlook the parking lot so they really need to create a nice impression inside. Admittedly we went without a reservation during a very busy time of year and as a result we seated in "the overflow" area, right at the very back of the restaurant, tightly squeezed in between the door and the table behind us. Across from us was an office area which was only partially hidden by a curtain - we got up and closed the curtain. One wall was a rich dark brown, the other side gold. There should have been pictures art or a mirror on the walls especially in this narrow dark corridor where we were seated . The tables were set with lovely white linen tablecloths and napkins, but some of the cutlery was missing ( and not replaced) and the chocolate brown chairs, which offered no back support, were slippery such that you kept sliding forward. In addition to the menu which offered a variety of sandwiches and pasta dishes, the Bistro offered some daily specials. Sandwiches are served with a generous salad. I thoroughly enjoyed the flavourful ceasar salad with freshly grated parmissan cheese. Unlike most standard restaurant caesars, the dressing did not heavily smother the romaine and there was a nice peppery quality to it.. I can highly recommend the warm foccaci bread with roasted vegetables and feta cheese (9.99). My husband had the smoked salmon on croissant (11.99) We did have to wait not only for our food but water refills and delivery of the bill but as I indicated they were particularly busy no doubt with Office parties etc. Washroom though clean, needed some attention. Instead of towel dispensers, a roll of paper towelling was perched on the edge of the sink in both the men's and women's washroom.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria,England
Level Contributor
1 review
“nice memories”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It is a while since I have eaten there, as it was while I was visiting Oshawa for my son's wedding but I ate there twice during my stay and both were excellent and one of those occasions was the wedding breakfast. (if that is what Canadians call it!) - the meal in the afternoon after the Church. We had the whole restaurant to ourselves and Simon put on a beautiful meal. When i re-visit Oshawa, Bistro 238 will definitely be on my list.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freeman403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good italian food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a little gem in the eastern part of Oshawa in a plaza. The food is very good and they offer specials, right at the moment, on Thursday nights which is pasta night (dec.2012). They have a ceasar salad which is the best. The other plus is how reasonable the prices are. Most items on the menu are $10 to $15.00 for an entre. We enjoy the white tablecloths, friendly service and good food. Give it a try when in Oshawa. You will probably need reservations especially on the weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernadette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love the atmosphere at this very small restaurant....very cozy and intimate....a fabulous spot for a quiet (romantic) dinner for two! Food was excellent and so was the service. I also love that it's not the same food you'll find at every other restairant....unique and very tasty!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Dinner at Bistro 238”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had the pleasure of eating here last night and it was very enjoyable.
It is a small restaurant that features a variety of dishes and a lot of pasta.
We had a flatbread brushetta to start and it was very good. I had the chicken penne and my dinner partner had a curry chicken, and both were very good.
It is a quiet place to chat and we could have sat there a long time and no one was rushing us.
It is a little hard to find, if you have a GPS, not so bad but I did go past the plaza and had to make a U turn.
I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprocak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 238 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 238? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing