We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traditional yummy family fare”

Teddy's Restaurant & Deli
Ranked #1 of 371 Restaurants in Oshawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oshawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“traditional yummy family fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Teddy's is a throw-back to the family restaurants of the 50's and 60's...not in looks, or as a "theme" gimmick....just great tasting, old-fashioned, nothing fancy food...and LOTS of it. Be prepared to be stuffed or ask for a doggie bag. Superb service from the waitresses. Mostly booth seating. Always a long line-up to get in, as they take DON'T TAKE RESERVATIONS. The line does move quickly, though, and what you get is worth the wait. They recently put in a small seating/waiting area for take-out orders. They DO NOT SERVE ALCOHOL. They are NOT HANDICAPPED-FRIENDLY, as the washrooms are down a wide flight of stairs near the entrance. Kept hearing from others how their coconut cream pie is the best anywhere, and I HATE coconut. Finally on my 4th visit with a friend we decided to share a dessert...she talked me into trying the coconut cream. OMG they weren't lying! Light and smooth, not too sweet, great crust. I was shocked that I liked it as much as I did. Would get it again. Teddy's has been around a long, long, time, and I can see why. And if it ain't broke, don't fix it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarpLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    247
    73
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good restaurant for most people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This place has never really changed their menu. This means that they have not catered to the growing vegetarian population, at least not on paper. However, the servers are very helpful in knowing what they have in the kitchen and what they can do for you. For example, vegetarians can order spaghetti with a tomato sauce (meat sauce on the menu) because they have a meat-free sauce they use on their chicken parm. They also offer club house sandwiches but with cucumbers or other veggies instead of meat. They're very accommodating and the portions are often enough for two meals. A warning for vegetarians though, I've been informed their house dressing contains bacon, but they have alternatives.

Their desserts are good but it's a better value to order an entire pie and take home what you don't eat. You can also ask for extra toasted coconut for the coconut cream pie and they'll give you a small cup of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegetarianReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food and Sevice Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Teddy's is a place that you are guaranteed a top notch meal and the servers are great, line ups will attest to that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oshawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive For Seniors.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been here a few times with my husband, however just lately the prices have become very high and when you are a senior you cannot afford to eat here very often , I will say you get lots of food enough to take home and its great food, just wish it wasn't so expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Teddy's is the only restaurant in Oshawa!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Teddy's has the best food and great prices in all of Oshawa. From their famous Roast Beef special to the "fresh" turkey dinner. There is no better food in Oshawa. Their service is second to none. When you arrive sometimes the lineup is out the door. Don't leave. Don't worry. They have time notices as you wait in line. And it's almost exactly what the sign says or faster. The service is great. This restaurant is home cooking that some people don't even get at home anymore! Teddy's is always our Birthday restaurant. Always giving you a special home made piece of pie that is out of this world. Every time we go, when you get to the front of the lineup, there is a cooler that displays fresh deserts. Every time we say "Today I'm having fresh strawberry Pie" but we almost never have room! If you want pie.....eat it first! Roast Beef, Liver or Turkey dinners are 10 out of 10. Always excellent. Always the same great food! We've been going to Teddy's for over 30 years!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azahunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teddy's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Teddy's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing