We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Ont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stay in your car”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

This hotel was an absolute disgrace! The driveway/parking area very poorly plowed with ice everywhere including walkways to doors. Rooms were clean the first day of a 4 day stay and never vacuumed afterwards. A request for a couple towels and a pillow were met with rude remarks and questioning by staff. Breakfast area was sorely lacking in size and seating room not to mention that there was a shortage of offered foods hours before breakfast was supposed to be over. Room had no power on adjoining wall outlets and 2 of 3 lamps in the room did not work. This is a poor choice for it's price and there are several better options in the area.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wingman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    58
    33
    20
See reviews for
69
62
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Our team stayed here for a hockey tournament. Staff was rude and refused a late check out request. No restaurants nearby. We had to shovel the Hotel walkway as it was not passable. Our team will not be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gibstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

this hotel is very clean and the rooms are great. Wireless internet helps. great breakfast and the breakfast room is clean and tidy.

Staff were very helpfull and great. I would return to this hotel again and again.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

**** MOST DISGUSTING HOTEL/MOTEL TO BE AT **** Shoppers be aware, do not be carried away. This is a bad bad choice. Hotel is old and stinky.. Has bed bugs. We had a sports team stay over and the room's were horrible. Had bad order. Breakfast room is dingy and can not sit more that 5 ppl. It is congested. Very yuky!!

We checked out the next day and stayed at Comfort Inn, the rooms were clean and nice. I was told that the hotel used to be a strippers motel. To think that I slept in one of those beds makes me sick...

*** PAY $10.00 MORE AND STAY A DECENT MOTEL,, I WILL NEVER HAVE ANYONE STAY HER EVER .....

i WISH I HAD PICTURES TO POST HERE..

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Souch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Our recent stay at the Best Western Durham hotel in Oshawa was a delight!

The staff were courteous and knowledgeable about their city, which I was visiting, the free internet access allowed me to work right from my hotel room at the end of the day.
Breakfast worry was also taken away with a delicious continental offered with my stay. The room was comfortable and clean.

Thank you for making my recent visit worry free, I look forward to coming back.

I give you 4 stars for your property and services.

S. Daggett

  • Liked — The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and knew their city well.
  • Disliked — No pool, it would have been nice for a quick dip
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

I stayed here for one night while attending a function at the hotel and was surprised at how nice my room was. The bed was a very nice king size, spacious rooms . One thing I noticed right away was that there was no mini bar. This is a plus for me. I hate looking at overpriced food sitting in a basket next to the TV. The TV was quite large and had lots of channels. Even though this hotel sits on a busy intersection there was really no traffic noise to speak of.

At check in I was given an upgrade to the King Plus Room which entitled a clean comfortable room with Micro wave & fridge with a complimentary breakfast buffet next mroning. The price we paid and the breakfast we received was great. Very nice--tasty, fresh fruit, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs as well as juices, cereals, coffe and appoximately 6 different varieties of tea.

One negative about the hotel is that they do not have an elevator.

Even though the hotel has been recently renovated the room we stayed in looked brand new and fresh.

I would definately stay at this Best Western Durham on my way to Oshawa or even way to Montreal if I need to sleep at a hotel that is clean comfortable and with the right price. Try it out.

All in all a great stay and I would definitely return.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank miss_mayumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

August 2007 (Month Visited) — "This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life. I expected consistent Best Western accomodations and got a slum room at best. Understaffed, poor customer service, mediocre room and hotel is way to close to railway tracks with very little sound deadning. Sounded like a train was coming through the room every hour all night. Save your money and stay elsewhere."

  • Liked — Can't think of anything I liked about it.
  • Disliked — Poor Service, noisy (trains) construction, security was poor, side door unlocked.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boomcreekfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 559 Bloor Street W, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 5Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Oshawa
Oshawa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing