We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions in the past. On each occasion we have found the facility to be clean and the staff friendly. The buffet breakfast is modest but offers a good selection including both hot and cold items. On our most recent stay the breakfast room attendant was very attentive. This hotel is usually cheaper than most comparable properties in the area and represents a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear SD,

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 328 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

I had an evening meeting in Toronto and did not want to battle Toronto traffic next morning on my drive up to Ottawa. The room was quiet, clean, had everything needed along with a very comfortable bed. I found the complimentary breakfast choice was good. Wireless Internet worked okay - I was able to make skype calls. Parking was free and staff seemed friendly. Drove to big shopping center on north side of 401 where they had restaurants and a Walmart. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Steve F,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are glad that everything went very well and look forward to seeing you when you are back in the Oshawa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I wanted to avoid some morning rush hour Toronto traffic and I stayed overnight here (I checked in at 11:00 pm). The room was clean, the bed was comfy, the shower worked, there were decent toiletries and decent towels. Breakfast was complimentary, so I feel badly complaining about the lack of variety, but my travel companion and I had no trouble finding something to eat. I booked it on Hotwire and got a decent deal, as well. As a bed for the night, it did the job.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLT1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

SLT1962,

We appreciate your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our property. Our breakfast has been enhanced very recently and we have started to add much more variety and selection, however it seems that we did not meet your expectations on the day you stayed with us, should you have a few minutes please let me know what we could add or how we could further improve our breakfast in your opinion to make your next breakfast experience with us better. Feel free to contact me directly at 905 723 5271 x 409 or by email gmdurham@brockhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It is a fantastic place to stay in Oshawa when you are looking for a very clean hotel, very good breakfast, great service and very friendly staff as well as an affordable price. Parking, internet, tv all is great and it is very close to GO-train station a lot restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoshawa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Mr. Lars, Thank you very much for the positive feedback you had provided concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Durham Hotel. I will make sure that the information is passed on to the rest of the team, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Oshawa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Incompetent conference staff who are not on-site and apparently do not understand the requirements of a meeting or conference. Inattention to details and miscommunication between and amongst staff members leave clients confused or panicky. When they screwed up and were unable to provide something that was essential to our meeting, they seemed content to leave a phone message the afternoon before simply telling us that it would not be possible. As we were out of the office, en route to the site, we did not find out until we arrived at the venue. We had booked the space more than 2 months prior. No apologies, no attemp to find a solution. Completely unacceptable. We did not book any of the hotel rooms so are unable to comment on that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank SkyboxTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding as the reception was here and this is where the guests were staying. Apon our arrival we get our room and the musty smell is more than i can bear. We are informed at the desk that there are no other avaiable rooms. Which explains why i did not get the king bed i ordered. I go to do my hair and the blow dryer is not working so i bring it to the desk and they assure me they will replace it with a working dryer which i didnt get the 4 days i was there. All night i could hear doors slamming in the halls. I did comp a free night for my troubles which was nice but the smell was so bad i wouldnt return anyways. At least the wedding was allright although it wouldnt be my choice of places thats for sure

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleynderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stay at this hotel often as I am commuting between Ott and Tor. Always friendly staff, clean room, great rates and the complimentary breakfast is a bonus. This hotel is conveniently located right off the 401, good old Stevenson exit.

The rooms in the low 200's are awesome (behind front desk). Office desk, couch, mini fridge and very spacious. If you are looking for a great hotel and very competitively priced- this BW Durham is a sure bet.

Room Tip: Rooms behind from desk (e.g 202) are huge with office desk, couch,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 559 Bloor St W, Oshawa, Ontario L1J 5Y6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range: $66 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Oshawa
Oshawa Best Western
Best Western Plus Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing