We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old stand-in”

Kelsey's Neighborhood Bar & Grill
Ranked #119 of 372 Restaurants in Oshawa
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy one of Canada's original roadhouse restaurants, with Canadian favourites like double stacked burgers and unforgettable chicken wings. At Kelsey's the beer is always cold and a game is always on.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Good old stand-in”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

On our way into the city, we had to stop for a quick bite. Kelsey's seemed to fit the bill. My wife loves the balsamic chicken. I ordered it as well and had the sauce on the side. It's amazing what those chicken breasts look like without sauce on them. You can tell they're pre-cooked; frozen and then thawed. They have pre-scored marks on them. Kinda mediocre at best. For $16, I would expect them to cook food from fresh. I think that's the way with all chain restaurants these days.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    7
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun night out!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A few weeks ago, my family and I went out to this location for a late night dinner. What stands out to me is the great service we had from our waiter. Due to the time, we were one of the only tables in the restaurant section and were quite a loud bunch. Our waiter was very prompt, helpful and shared in a few laughs with our table! The food was very tasty- my mother and I split Fajitas which were enough for leftovers and tasted great the next day too! My sister-in-law had the balsamic chicken and was disappointed in the lack of sauce and that the mashed potatoes now come with onions. Overall, we had a great time, our waiter made it unique and memorable! We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evergleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Burnt food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stopped visiting Kelsey's as much as we used to because the portions have shrunk quite a bit. We used to visit quite often. Every time I go to Kelsey's I get the balsamic chicken meal which I absolutely love. The last 2 times I have visited this location, the chicken has come out burnt and there was hardly any sauce on it. I had to spend time cutting all the burnt parts off and after all that work, because there wasn't enough sauce it just wasn't good at all. It's really too bad that they don't mind to send out burnt food. I may try Kelsey's again in another town, but this one I will definitely not be returning to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank itsmeinhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best Chain restaurant around.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We don't particularly like chain restaurants and their pre-made processed foods but Kelseys is better than any other chain restaurant. Love their Sonoma Chicken salad

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Kelseys Continues to Disappoint”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We go to Kelsey's from time to time but are never happy with our decision. The staff is fine, we're just disappointed with the quality of food for the price.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelsey's Neighborhood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kelsey's Neighborhood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing