We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oshawa(Oshawa)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
22
32
19
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
32
19
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnear the train stationheat worked greatdirect accesscomfortable bedsbath towelsprice rangevery pleasant stayfront desk staffno elevatorplace to stayhotel is locatedfirst floornext morningcomplimentary breakfastgo trainhighwaymicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 103 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found the staff friendly and helpful, our room was large and clean (2 double beds) and the fridge came in very handy, the free parking was a real plus, the breakfast that was included was great. Great place to stay when visiting the Oshawa/Whitby/Port Perry area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GrantFamilyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Grant Family

We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Comfort Inn Oshawa.
The staff at the hotel would like to thank you for your kind words our number one goal is to ensure that all guest have a wonderful experience while staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Thanks Dana Gillingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, large clean room (2 double beds) with comfortable bedding, desk, fridge and coffee making facilities, ample free parking, direct access to Pearson International via highway 401, Walmart within walking distance, breakfast included in rate of $A 65/ night.
Would recommend for those visiting Oshawa/Whitby/Port Perry area or eastern Toronto.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niwega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In town for a few nights, we thought this Comfort Inn was just right: nothing fancy but providing comfortable and clean sleeping quarters. Just a bit on the tired side, it would benefit immensely from new carpet in the hallways. We had handicapped-access accomodations which never seem to have a decent-sized bathroom counter, but the shower water pressure and temperature were fine. I always appreciate a hotel that provides three bath towels, too! Our preference is a king bed but the doubles available were good enough. Nice linens and comfy pillows/mattress. Lobby is tiny and the only complimentary beverage is regular coffee (no decaf or hot water) although that's available in the room. As we slept late one morning and had to leave very early the other two, we did not make it to breakfast so cannot comment. Parking is a bit tight, and we were seriously challenged our night of arrival, too late to contact the guest who parked his tractor trailer rig right in the main drive (although I was sorely tempted to find him and make him move it). The desk clerk "had no idea whose it might be" which could have been an issue in an emergency. Access to good shopping and restaurants is quick and easy - right across the highway. No noise issues. Not a vacation spot but provided what we needed. Note: We used Choice Privileges points and the cost of 20,000 per night was far too many for this caliber of hotel. We had few choices in this area.

Room Tip: Noise was not an issue for us even though on the first floor with parking right outside our full-sized windows.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here to be within walking distance of the VIA train station. While the staff at the front desk were friendly, the rooms smell horrible (and we stayed in two different rooms). Even with the window open, we couldn't get rid of the odor. It was a very expensive evening for a shabby room with a nasty smell, but the manager did offer a measley 15% discount. I noticed there is a Best Western right next door; I will try that next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 230; there is a picnic area underneath the window where some people like to smoke and drink all night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNtravelrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Recently, my wife and I stayed at this location.
It is conveniently located just a short drive away from an outdoor plaza and an extensive indoor mall. Lots of restaurants in the area within reasonable distance.
The Front Desk staff were very courteous and helped us to locate a particular address.
When we arrived, the hallway carpets were being steam cleaned - very nice appearance afterwards.
Before listing issues that travellers should be aware of, I want to note that we would definitely stay at this location again - but that we would be more aware of the Property's amenities and deficiencies - which would make our stay better.
This is an older motel - one of the former Journeys End Inn properties that has not been updated to current standards. It is in need of very substantial upgrades - or should be reclassified as an EconoLodge and its price points dropped by at least 25%.
Although our drive-up room as clean, there were many noticeable issues. The air conditioner had one either freeze or did little to cool the air - plus it blew right across the room over an adjacent couch and onto the bed. It only takes a few dollars for motels to buy air deflectors to direct air and provide a much more pleasant experience.
The most disappointing of all was the total lack of a proper breakfast area. Especially for tourists from the U.S., "beware" that this location in no way offers the breakfast advertised on the Comfort Inn website. The motel had taken one former bedroom and made it into a make shift breakfast room. The room had "2" tables - each with sitting for 6. By our arriving at 7:15 AM, pickings were sparse. No butter; no margarine; bread almost gone; no eggs of any kind; muffin and bake goods were gone; juice virtually gone. We were told that the motel's "order" for supplies had not arrived but, really, mid week this should not be an issue. Table clothes were dirty, as was the floor area.
Bedding was not upgraded to the new standards.
The couch was very uncomfortable.
The "price point" for this motel is way too high - $95 is not acceptable for what one gets - unless this location is a must on one's agenda.
I would recommend this motel - but beware of that the description on ComfortInn.com does not reflect what one gets at this location.
Finally, this review is meant to thoroughly brief tourists (especially those from the U.S.) as to what one gets for the dollar compared to what is advertised on the Comfort Inn website. You will not be disappointed by the very courteous staff who do the very best with what they have to work with at this location.

Room Tip: As this motel faces onto the very busy 401 highway, ask for a room at the rear of the building - or in the L-shaped portion @ 103.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews