We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Durham Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Well I must say that this is the second time we have stayed at this location and I am ready to book again next year. The front desk staff were great the security was great, and the Night manager was great. Rooms were nice and accommodating, even though the ice machines on both level 1 and 2 were not working it really didn't matter as it was cold enough to keep beverages outside and in the fridge.. GREAT JOB to all your staff and management for a job well done

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if there are hockey teams here. I would feel sorry for anyone that wasn't par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLaplante1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we value all feedback from our guests as it helps in our efforts for continuous improvement. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. As for the ice machines both ice machines are operational but sometimes due to guests filling up that coolers with ice, it does take time for the machines to replenish the ice.

Thank you once again for staying with us

Kayo Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 258 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

this was the worst place we have ever stayed patio handle broken heater so loud could not run it, were told after we check that no food or drinks ,could not sleep because pipes banging could hear everything in room due to no sound proofing , left a message on managers voice mail on 23 dec 2013 and still no call back ,we did try to call front desk three times that night and no answer

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. At the Quality Hotel Oshawa, we welcome comments from all our guests as it helps us to maintain and improve the excellent service we provide our guests. With due respect you stayed with us on the night of the ice storm that gripped most of Ontarion and Quebec. The reason why our restaurant was closed the night you checked in was due to the resulting power outage. Power had just come back a few minutes before you checked in. We were however open normally for breakfast the next day. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here as a last minute refuge from the ice storm that hit southern Ontario the weekend before Christmas. Our power had, at this point, been out for almost 24 hours and our house was cold an dark. This was an inexpensive escape and we were so happy with our choice.

The check in staff was friendly, attentive and compassionate to the people that were in the same situation as us. They made us feel very welcome. The hotel lobby was very inviting and once we got to our rooms, were pleased at the cleanliness and comfort it provided. Never has a hot shower felt so good...lol...

The beds were very comfortable, and we all slept well. Our room had 2 double beds, a tv with cable, free wifi, a bar fridge, an iron and ironing board (not that ironing at that point was a concern), and a balcony.

The breakfast buffet was very good....Lots of choices of both hot and cold foods and friendly staff. There is an indoor pool, and I noticed a nice outdoor pool for use in the summer.

As i said, this was a last minute stay, but I would stay here again if necessary and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubasCallingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was at such a stressful time with the power outage. At the Quality Hotel it is the mission of all our staff and management to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.
Thnak you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A little dated. Location being close to the 401 was good. Also close to many amenities. Nice pool and courtyard. Saw several bugs in the hallway though. Overall it was average, though we expected something a little better for the star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaBigSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we value feedback from our guests as we are all about continuous improvement. We are commencing extensive renovations to our hotel starting early spring. Your next visit to our hotel will see a lot of changes.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Kayo Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

True story: Stayed Nov 29th through the 31st 2013
- Called the front desk for towels and the lady who brought them told us is we needed anything else to "go see one of the ladies in the hall with a cart that clean the rooms.They should have most everything we might need."
- Walked by the same pizza box for a day and a half in the hall. Can only imagine how many employees must have walked by that pizza box.
- Both of the mornings we stayed the washrooms in the lobby were beyond disgusting. Un-flushed toilets, paper all over the floors. Smelled terrible. Obviously had not been looked at since the day before and it was nearly 9 am.
- The buffet was brutal. Mushy pasta. Cold foods tasted off, not fresh at all.
- The hotel was busy but the restaurant was almost empty and the waitress kept disappearing. Had to get up and look for her every time we needed something.
- Went to the bar after dinner for a few drinks. Had to go to the bar for the first drink as the bartender ignored us. Had to disturb her from her personal phone call for our second one. Then gave up when we couldn't find her for the third and returned to our room advising the desk to have the drinks charged to our room.
- Condom rapper under the bed.
- Went to the front desk after breakfast the day of check-out to review hotel bill. Greeted by staff member still chewing her breakfast. Asked for a copy of the bill to review. The response was, "Your bill is $479.00." Repeated again that I would like a printed copy of the bill to review. The response was, "You can review the copy that was put under your door this morning." Advised the girl, that if she didn't mind printing the bill again, so that I could review it without walking to my room. Was simply answered with a huff and she printed the bill.

The over-whelming feeling from every staff member I came into contact with, was that I was not important. They must have a ton of staff that just don't care. Can't believe management doesn't see it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property, we appreciate your comments as it helps us to make the necessary changes to maintain the standards for all of our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inefficiencies that you found during your stay and let you know that we do take all guest feedback seriously and will review our policies with all departments within the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your customer experience and we look forward to seeing your again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotal as it was close to the areas we were visiting. The rate was low for the area and the room was a bit cold as the outside air could come into the room when the heater was on. But it was clean and both the tv and internet worked well. Towels were very rough, the pool was clear but a bit cold and the hot tub could use some work. The area was quiet though and we had a decent sleep. In the morning they did not have the free buffet but did more than compensate by allowing us to order from the menus free of charge. So all in all for the price, free parking, free internet and a decent breakfast it was definately worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property, we very much appreciate guest comments as it helps us to make the necessary changes to maintain the standards for all of our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you're on a budget, this is a good place to stay. It's old and the whole hotel could do with some touching up. Friendly staff, very clean room, comfortable beds and good price helped us overlook the small blemishes due to age.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayo_Mehta, General Manager at Durham Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel & Conference Centre. We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Renovation plans are in the works for the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oshawa
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Quality Suites
#3 of 7 in Whitby
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Oshawa
100 reviews
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 1011 Bloor St E, Oshawa, Ontario L1H 7K6, Canada (Formerly Quality Hotel & Conference Centre, Oshawa)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oshawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oshawa
Price Range: $139 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durham Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Durham Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Oshawa
Oshawa Holiday Inn
Durham Hotel & Conference Centre Oshawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing