We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

English Bay Fish & Chips
Ranked #156 of 477 Restaurants in Oakville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: So much more than just a Fish & Chip shop, English Bay offers full table service in a warm and comfortable setting. Everything is home made, including fabulous desserts and soups. Choose from a nice selection of wines and local craft brewed beers. Take-out also available. Free WiFi.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We wanted fish and chips and read the reviews from English Bay Fish & Chips so decided to go and try it out.
The halibut fish was fantastic but the fries were still crunchy because they weren't cooked. When the waitress came to our table ,we told her the french fries weren't cooked and her comment was "Oh that's unfortunate."
I don't think I would go back because she has no customer service skills.
When she brought us the bill she asked if we would like to share an order of fries when we were all done. NOOOO! she should have asked us that when we first told her they were uncooked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at English Bay Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Brenda,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it has helped us address an obvious issue with our service.

When you pointed out that your chips were undercooked, your server brought it immediately to the attention of the "manager", who that Sunday was actually the cook (my wife and I had taken the day off). They discussed it and came to the conclusion that they should offer some new chips, but they took WAY too long to reach that decision.

It's a shame you won't be returning for our "fantastic" halibut due to this isolated incident. These are very good young people learning the business, and unfortunately they messed this one up.

We apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cod and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had the Cod and Chips and thought it was good. It was crispy on the outside and there was just enough chips. My wife and I both felt full but not stuffed, which is a nice change. Other restaurants that we've been to either give you too much or too little.
The service was quick and friendly and the atmosphere feels like you're eating at home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paps_Blue_Ribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We heard good reviews, so we decided to get take out one Sunday night. What a let down!! We ordered the the cod with traditional batter and chips. The size of the pieces of fish we to be desired and the batter was soggy not crispy and it was overly greasy. There were a fair amount of chips but like the fish soggy as well. The staff seemed friendly enough and it the decor was ok for a fish & chips place. Overall experience was poor and would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Owner at English Bay Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience. Yours is now the third online review expressing dissatisfaction with the cod. We are currently working to find out what is going wrong with this product.

We regret that your meal was not up to standard, we really do work very hard to make sure that each meal is the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality and homemade deserts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Mark and Grace continue to provide excellent fish & chips from quality oil. Grace is famous for her homemade deserts. Very convenient open hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rsmacdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Might as well be in England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We frequent this restaurant as we appreciate their excellent service and their excellent food. There is a wide variety of choices on the menu and the deserts are always terrific. As the name implies, great fish and chips!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Bay Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Oakville, Ontario
 

Been to English Bay Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing