We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gluten free menu selction”

IL FORNELLO, Oakville
Reserve with OpenTable
IL FORNELLO, Oakville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 484 Restaurants in Oakville
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dorval and North Service Rd. W
Transit: Near-by
Description: In the picturesque town of Oakville just a short drive from Toronto, IL FORNELLO is conveniently located in the Abbey Centre. A spacious interior dining room features floor to ceiling windows overlooking a large outdoor patio.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
455 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Good Gluten free menu selction”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

good selection of pasta, meats and breads, excellent service - server returned to our table several times asking if things were fine and there was anything else. Refills were quick. Good size portions on all of the items ordered. Prepared exactly as ordered and served hot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    57
    22
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakville,Ontario
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Molto Bene Italian Cuisine in Oakville”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful New Year's Eve meal at Il Fornello in Oakville.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the hostess & she escorted us to our table.

The restaurant has a nice decor with brick interior & an open kitchen where you can see the cooks making the meals.

We ordered a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio & a bottle of Pelligrino.

As appetizers we ordered the Mussels & Roma Salata. Both appetizers were excellent.

For the main course we ordered the Vitello Marsala & Chicken Asiago. The veal is very tasty with a nice sauce & rapini.The Chicken has nice flavor with carrots.

We were full after the main course , so we ordered coffee for desert.

Service by Alan & another Italian speaking waiter whose name we didn't know was excellent.

This is a great place for a date night or with the family.

They have several pizzas on the menu that kids will like.

Our only minor complaint is that the price of wine is somewhat high at $49 a bottle. There are cheaper selections but I didn't see any wine under $30 a bottle.

The wine we selected was very good but it was expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oakville6910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to Il Fornello's for my birthday and had a wonderful meal. Our server was great and recommended a bottel of wine that we all enjoyed very much, so we had to have a second! The Pollo con Asiago Chicken was delicious, can't wait to go for the next family birthday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good spot to dine”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although the restaurant was very busy, the service was excellent. Wait staff were attentive and pleasant. Food was very good. Overall a very good experience

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very reliable”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We used to live nearby and used to enjoy Il Fornello fairly regularly. After being away for a few years, we stopped by again and we're pleased to find that both the food and service hadn't changed. Our table was right by the open kitchen, but otherwise, it was a great meal. Delicious food and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL FORNELLO, Oakville also viewed

 

Been to IL FORNELLO, Oakville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing