We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piazza Bistro

Piazza Bistro
Ranked #127 of 477 Restaurants in Oakville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“delicious pasta”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

they have very good penne pasta. tastes homemade! when they first opened they had huge plates for a great price but as they got more popular we noticed they cut their portions by a lot and we don't feel like its worth the money anymore. you only get about two cups of pasta for $17

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special, terrible service.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

2 of us visited on a Friday evening 7 p.m. patio full but empty tables inside during entire time we were there. Ordered bruschetta right away, then proceeded to review menu and choose the rest. After a few minutes we ordered 2 beers, a salad and a pizza to share. After another few minutes along came the salad (greens, roasted shallot vinaigrette with no flavour of shallots). We inquired as to the whereabouts of the bruschetta we ordered upon first arriving and were told "well I guess its coming" by a not very friendly person who was not our original friendly server. No beverages other than water seen at this point. My friend ate her share of the salad while I waited patiently for someone to come by so I could ask for salt. After some time beers and bruschetta finally arrived. Bruschetta was okay but nothing special--fairly bland actually. Then the pizza came--the daily special--with fresh mozz, roasted peppers, chicken and pancetta. Crust was wonderful, sauce and cheese good but bland (could have used some pesto or basil seasoning), a few quite large pieces of chicken. about 2 pieces of red pepper and about 2 tiny pieces of pancetta--almost unnoticeable. finished our meal and waited, and waited, and waited, hoping to have coffee and see a dessert menu. appeared to only be 2 staff working in our area who seemed to be quite busy washing glasses and doing other chores. Finally our original waitress came by and asked if we wanted coffee or dessert but by that point we were so annoyed at waiting so long that we just wanted our bill and to get out of there. She brought our bill and said she would return with the machine.....waited almost 10 minutes more and someone else appeared with the machine. One and three quarter hours in total time spent with half of it just waiting for stuff. Food okay but a bit bland and underseasoned--actually no seasoning on the pizza or bruschetta at all. $65 including tip (minimum) seemed a bit much for 2 beers, salad and pizza that was just okay with terrible service. My friend had been once previously and also had poor service and an unpleasant server so unfortunately neither of us will be returning or recommending this place. Too bad--neat place and looked like perhaps some yummy pastries and gelato.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank terrinom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Our "Go-To" Downtown Oakville Restaurant”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Whenever we want to go out and get a quick bite, Piazza Bistro is our go to destination. We always order the same 4 appetizer dishes - mainly because they are absolutely excellent. The meatballs in a fresh homemade tomato sauce is fabulous. Grilled calamari are done to perfection. Seared scallop salad and last but not least, the tomato bruschetta. Order these and you definitely can't go wrong. Very reasonable prices given the quality.
The restaurant is a little tucked away in the square, but well venturing down the stairs to find it. Absolutely outstanding - Highly Recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrESP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great every time”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've eaten here for lunches/dinners on the patio and inside with girlfriends and with my kids. I haven't had a bad meal yet. My daughter had the pizza and it was cooked perfectly.

The food is authentic and delicious. I will keep going here

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joy_darlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chandelier is marvellous”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Chandelier in the alcove is old school charm. It is absolutely stunning and Its the only saving grace of this restaurant. The owner needs an attitude adjustment. Food is mediocre.Service was great.With better management this place could be a gem. Better value than the restaurant across the square (seven).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank colehilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing