We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem”
Review of Alhambra Medierranean Fiesta - CLOSED

Alhambra Medierranean Fiesta
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tucked away in a mall off Lakeshore is a delightful restaurant that offers a range of Moroccan and other Mediterranean foods. We ordered the shared starter which was excellent. The tagine was excellent as was the service

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have enjoyed this fabulous little restaurant many times. The place is always full because the food is so amazingly delicious. Wonderful combinations of flavours and spices. We both had tajines,(chicken and seafood) with hummus as the appetizer.. excellent presentation and service.
I asked for a few extra things (apricots, raisins, almonds) and the chef was happy to oblige.
They will soon need a larger space, since it is obviously a popular spot to dine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“More than food...this is an experience.......”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

You could not be disappointed when you eat at Alhambra restaurant. The owner is passionate about what he does...he gets the best and freshest food and ingredients possible, and makes it all fresh right before your eyes. He will very the menu to suit you...if you don't want couscous he will gladly substitute more vegetables. The hummus was the freshest and best I have ever had.

Most restaurants won't offer couscous because it takes hours to make. He makes it in clay pots the old fashioned way. The owner explained restaurants don't offer couscous because it is much easier to make potatoes or french fries....but this couscous is so delicious.

The owner offered us a dessert though we don't eat much sugar. He said don't worry, you will like this........it was a sliver of orange, with dates, and almonds, and sprinkling of halva....you have to have a little of each on your fork each time and it is unbelievably good.

I had Chicken Alhambra Couscous which had lots of chicken, grilled red peppers and onions, and fabulous couscous. My friend had the leg of lamb and thought it was done to perfection.

Alhambra is packed on the weekends but is fairly quiet during the week. Oh yes, cooking classes available on Mondays.

This isn't just food, it is truly an culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in Oakville Ontario”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Went there on Friday( early evening) They apparently were fully booked for later. I had the lamb tagine which was absolutely outstanding, my husband had the chicken souvlaki, also magnificent. All the plates looked absolutely mouthwatering.Flavours were to die for. Cannot wait to go back and try some more plates. June Thurlow

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank june t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare find!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Andalusian cuisine in Oakville? Wow. My wife had the chicken tagine and I had the lamb 3 ways and we shared the Harira soup - we were blown away by amazing depth of flavours, the mixes of savoury and smoky, citrusy tang and spice. As Kat A said, an "unexpected gem".

We've tried many restaurants in Oakville and find many are underwhelming and overpriced. Alhambra is a diamond in the rough in this regard. The mains are reasonably priced and I would challenge anyone to find Andalusian/Moroccan cuisine in the GTA that rivals what this restaurant offers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phatPeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alhambra Medierranean Fiesta also viewed

Oakville, Ontario
 
Oakville, Ontario
Oakville, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing