We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You better go hungry” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mo's Family Restaurant

Mo's Family Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 474 Restaurants in Oakville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You better go hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Because the portions are HUGE! I'm a big eater, but still take home half the meal. The brunch is great, and I've liked everything I've tried. The service is a little slow, so don't go inn a hurry, but everyone is friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dadbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    83
    22
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
705 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Hugh Portions To Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Eat here with an intern staff reporter from the North Oakville Today newspaper. Was told alot of the staff from the Oakville Beaver eat here constantly. Besides having a large selection of their menu to chose from, the food portions are hugh. Service was fine and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I love this place! The food is amazing, went there for breakfast. You can't beat the value! This place really has a "family" atmosphere. Maybe not the most fancy or the most attentive wait staff, but it just goes with the feel of the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ItsMrsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food,horrible service-won't go back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was extremely dissappointed with my most recent visit to Mo's and will not be returning! We were greeted by a friendly lady who seated us and told us our server would be over shortly. We ordered drinks and looked over the extensive menu. It had been awhile since I last ate at Mo's and I was pleasantly surprised at the many new additions to their menu. They had everything from standard sandwiches to paninis and wraps. They even had smoked salmon as an appetizer which is difficult to find in most restaurants. If you can't find something good to eat at Mo's, you aren't trying hard enough or you are a very picky eater. I had no complaints with the food.

After much deliberation I chose the California Chicken Wrap with soup. I didn't want the chicken noodle soup so I asked for the French Onion Soup. My dining companion ordered the Smoked Salmon Appetizer and was greeted with a curious look by our server. This made us uncomfortable. The food came out fairly quickly and the portions were large. I knew this from previous visits to Mo's but was still surprised by the amount of food. While we were eating, our server never came over to ask how our meal was and she did not ask me if I wanted a refill on my soft drink at all. This complete lack of attention to our needs as a customer is appalling and is one of the many reasons we will not be back. I have dined in many restaurants and these duties are basic customer service which she did not fulfill.

At the end of our meal my companion asked for his food to go and she left to go pack it up. Upon her return she brought my companions packed up food and an empty container for me which I didn't see at the time. I asked for my food to be packed up to go and she rudely pointed at the container and disappeared not to be seen again. Perhaps it was the end of her shift. However, in other restaurants that I have been to the server has explained it was the end of their shift and somebody else would be looking after us after she left. Not so here. I had saved room for dessert and was ready to order. My companion had to flag down another server as ours had disappeared. The same thing happened when we were ready to pay our bill. We had to chase down someone other than our server for bill. This is very frustrating and unprofessional.

I was confused when I received my bill and there was an item called open food with a price attached to it. What the heck is this? At the cash it was explained to me that the soup that I thought came with my meal was an extra charge. At no point did the server explain this. I might have chose diffferently had I known that. Based on these cumulative negative experiences I chose to tip nothing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank margaritaville2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Breakfast -- service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Much better than average brunch spot. Huge portions at normal prices. Hashbrowns were homemade. Your coffee comes with an extra carafe, so didn't have to wait for refills, which was good, because service was slower than average: not slow enough to put me off, but slow enough to be a bit irritating. Food was very good, though. I'd go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stuartrmwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Oakville, Ontario
 

Been to Mo's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing