We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good food and service”
Review of Compass Restaurant - CLOSED

Compass Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are closed
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Located lakeside beside Bronte Marina. Very nice view with an umbrelled outdoor patio (for warm weather). Good and friendly service. Very good food dishes available at a reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    16
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Compass”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The food quality (especially the hamburger!) is very good, the prices are reasonable and the view is great. Oakville needs more restaurants on the water.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Made a reservation and then arrived to find the restaurant hosting a private function!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Reserved a dinner for four on Friday for Saturday night. They took our phone number and and name.

When we arrived the next night with our guests we were informed the restaurant was closed for a private function so no dinner for us!

We called to complain three times and have never heard from them. I guess they do not need customers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, General Manager at Compass Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Clark1600,

My name is Neero and I am the Manager at Compass Restaurant. I am extremely sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn't near our Brand Standards or expectations. At Compass our guests are very important to us. I would like to take this as part of an opportunity to apologize. For the other part I would personally like to invite you back to our restaurant to deliver an experience which would go above and beyond your expectations. Our Compass team along with myself would be more than glad if you accept our invitation. Please send me an email at info@compassrestaurant.ca to make a reservation. We are looking forward to meeting you. Thanks

Neero
Compass Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Venue for Company Party...not bad.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is the second year for the company party and both years were the same - food isn't great, and not big enough portions. Bartenders were good at their jobs but not enough selection for martinis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karaoke_Mom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over-priced horrible food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Dec 5/2013 Went to this restaurant today for lunch, I will never go back. Onion soup was tasteless. Caesar salad was not much better. Limited menu. Ridiculous prices. Location was the only good thing about the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller196221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Compass Restaurant also viewed

Oakville, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing